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This workbook reflects the work of the  
Youth Fire Safety Program at the  

Oregon Office of State Fire Marshal in partnership 
with the Oregon Advisory Council for Youth Fire 
Prevention and Intervention and the Oregon Life 
Safety Team. This product is an adaptation of the  

Wise Up Program created  
by Fire and Emergency New Zealand  

and through coordination with the  
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division. 



Despite the challenges that raising young people brings, all 
parents play an important role in keeping their family safe. 
Youth are being influenced at an overwhelming rate, from 
an incredible amount of sources, and parents cannot have 
input in every choice their child makes. Because of this, it 
is important to understand that preventing a fire is always 
easier and safer than putting it out and parents hold a 
degree of responsibility in enhancing fire safe behavior. 

When young people misuse fire, they are often surprised 
by the physical, legal, and financial outcomes of a series 
of small choices. Through appropriate modeling of safe 
fire behavior and swift intervention, parents can take 
steps to avoid future fire misuse.  

THIS GUIDE WILL ANSWER THE 
FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:

•• Who is responsible if your child sets a fire?
•• What offense(s) could your child be referred to the 
juvenile department for, if they start a fire?
•• What could happen if your child is charged on a fire-
related offense?
•• What can you do?  

DEAR PARENTS:

TAKING STEPS TO PREVENT THE POTENTIAL 
LIFE CHANGING CONSEQUENCES A FIRE CAN 
CREATE STARTS WITH YOU. 
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Who is responsible if your 
child sets a fire?

You are.
THERE ARE SEVERAL STATE LAWS THAT 
DEFINE YOUR RESPONSIBILITY AS A  
PARENT OR GUARDIAN IF YOUR CHILD  
UNDER THE AGE OF 18 STARTS A FIRE. 
ORS 30.765 - Liability of parents for tort by child. Parents 
of a minor child will be held liable for actual damages 
to person or property caused either intentionally or 
recklessly by that child. A parent may be liable for up to 
$7,500 in damages. 

ORS 163.577 - Failing to supervise a child. A parent, 
guardian or other person lawfully charged with the 
care or custody of a child under fifteen years of age 
could be charged with failing to supervise a child if the 
child commits an act that is referred to juvenile court. 
According to this law, you could be required to pay up to 
$2,500 in restitution to the victim for damages your child 
caused. 
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ORS 480.158 - Parents of minor liable for costs incurred 
in suppressing fires caused by the use of fireworks by 
minor. If your child’s fire was started by fireworks, you 
could be liable for up to $5,000 for costs incurred by a 
public fire agency to put that fire out. 

ORS 477.745 - Parents of minor liable for costs of 
suppressing fires caused by minor on forestland. A 
parent may be liable for up to $5,000 for one or more 
acts of a minor child. 

Civil penalties - In any firesetting situation you could 
also be held responsible on a civil level for any additional 
costs/damages to the victims or their insurance 
companies.
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What offense(s) could your 
child be referred to the 
juvenile department for, if 
they start a fire?

THE JUVENILE COURT HAS EXCLUSIVE 
JURISDICTION OVER CHILDREN WHO HAVE 
COMMITTED ACTS WHICH, IF DONE BY AN ADULT, 
WOULD CONSTITUTE VIOLATIONS OF THE LAW 
(ORS 419C.005). IF A CHILD STARTS A FIRE, 
THERE ARE A NUMBER OF POTENTIAL OFFENSES, 
DEPENDING UPON THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF A 
PARTICULAR CASE, THAT MAY BRING A CHILD 
WITHIN THE JUVENILE COURT’S JURISDICTION. 
THESE OFFENSES INCLUDE: 
ORS 164.335 - Reckless Burning: A person commits 
the offense of reckless burning if the person recklessly 
damages another person’s property by fire or explosion. 

ORS 164.315 - Arson in the Second Degree: A person 
commits the crime of arson in the second degree if, 
by starting a fire or causing an explosion, the person 
intentionally damages: a. Any building of another that is 
not protected property; or b. Any property of another 
and the damages to the property exceed $750. Arson in 
the second degree is a Class C felony. 
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ORS 164.325 - Arson in the First Degree: A person 
commits arson in the first degree, if by starting a fire or 
causing an explosion, the person intentionally damages: 
a. Any protected property of another; b. Any property 
where a person is in danger of physical injury or where 
protected property of another is in danger; or: c. Any 
property where the person recklessly causes physical 
injury to a firefighter or peace officer acting in the line of 
duty relating to the fire. 

ORS 137.707 - Adult prosecution of 15-, 16- or 
17-year-old offenders: If a juvenile is fifteen, sixteen, or 
seventeen years of age at the time the offense of arson 
in the first degree is committed, that juvenile could be 
prosecuted as an adult in criminal court and could be 
committed to the justice system, if there is threat of 
serious physical injury. 

ORS 166.382 - Unlawful possession of a destructive 
device: If a person possesses any of the following: 
bomb, grenade, any rocket propellant having more 
than one-quarter ounce of charge or any combination 
of parts for use in readily converting any device into 
any destructive device that would be considered a 
bomb, that person is guilty of a class C felony which is 
punishable up to five years and $100,000. 

ORS 166.384 - Unlawful manufacture of a destructive 
device: If a person assembles any device described 
above or any pyrotechnic device containing two or more 
grains of pyrotechnic charge, that person is guilty of a 
class C felony which is punishable up to five years and 
$100,000. 
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ORS 166.480 - Sale or gift of destructive devices to 
children: Any person who sells, exchanges, barters or 
gives to any child under 14 years an explosive article or 
substance with the purpose of causing an explosion is 
guilty of a misdemeanor which is punishable by a fine up 
to $500. 

ORS 166.025 - Disorderly conduct: Any person who, 
with the intent to cause public inconvenience, initiates or 
circulates a report knowing it to be false concerning an 
alleged or impending fire or explosion. This is a class B 
misdemeanor punishable by up to six months or $1,000. 

ORS 480.070 - Fire bombs prohibited: No person 
shall possess a fire bomb. A fire bomb is any breakable 
container containing a flammable liquid having a wick 
or similar device. This is a class A misdemeanor which is 
punishable by one year or $2,500.

ALL FIRES START SMALL.  
IN JUST A FEW MINUTES, THEY  
CAN GROW INTO BIG FIRES.
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What could happen if 
your child is charged on a 
fire-related offense?

Depending on the situation, your child could face a 
court proceeding in juvenile or adult court. A police 
report may be sent to the Juvenile Department for 
processing. Each case outcome differs depending on the 
circumstances. These are general guidelines for how a 
Juvenile Department will process a case: 

1.	 Family Meeting: The juvenile counselor will set 
up a meeting with the family and review what has 
occurred. Potential outcomes of this meeting may 
include:

•• Closing the case
•• Referral for mediation or a facilitated dialogue with 
victim(s)
•• Agreement of an informal consequence or Sole 
Sanction
•• Recommendation for a Formal Accountability 
Agreement (See page 8.)
•• Recommendation for Formal Court Process (See 
page 8). At this time, the Juvenile Counselor may 
also recommend that your child participate in a 
Youth with Fire Screening. 
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2.	 Formal Accountability Agreement (FAA): This is a 
contract between the Juvenile Department and the 
family in return for not going to court. This contract 
will outline guidelines which must be completed within 
a set amount of time. This could mean screening 
and education by the fire department, supervision 
requirements of the Juvenile Counselor, counseling, 
community service, work crew, etc.

3.	 Formal Process in Court: If the fire related incident 
meets the criteria imposed by the juvenile department 
and the Formal Accountability Agreement was not 
fulfilled, and/or the youth appears to be of significant 
risk of re-offense based on a Risk Assessment, the 
Juvenile Department may send the case to Juvenile 
Court. The court will decide, based on the facts, what 
will happen to the individual. Consequences tend 
to be more severe than those imposed in a Formal 
Accountability Agreement. A Judge could impose a 
number of outcomes which could include: 

•• Fines and/or Restitution
•• Community Service
•• Probation
•• Time in a Detention Facility
•• Commitment to the Oregon Youth Authority for 
placement in a residential program
•• Placement in a Youth Correctional Facility 
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Other considerations: Your child can be held 
responsible for restitution past the age of eighteen. If 
the Formal Probation Order includes a money judgment 
for any fees or restitution not paid by age eighteen, the 
money judgment can go on the individual’s credit record 
and remain in effect for seven years (age twenty-five).  

In some cases, your child may be tried and convicted as 
an adult. If this were to occur, they would face the adult 
guidelines for jail times and fines. Upon release, the 
individual’s employment options may be limited. Most 
employers will request a check of records regarding 
felony convictions. 

EVEN IF TRIED AS A JUVENILE, A YOUTH 
COULD BE COMMITTED TO THE JUSTICE 
SYSTEM UNTIL AGE TWENTY-FIVE.
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What can you do?
There is a solution.
1.	 Teach your children about the power of fire. Fire is hot, 

fast, and unpredictable.

2.	 Help your child practice making good decisions. Fire 
misuse is the result of a chain of decisions. Help them 
learn to:
•• Identify a problem.
•• Brainstorm solutions.
•• Weigh the positive and negative consequences  
of the solutions. 
•• Use that information to make a plan.
•• Implement the plan.
•• Evaluate- Did it work?

3.	 Help your children to learn empathy and to visualize 
the big picture. A fire could not only cause harm to 
them, but your family, neighbors, and the community 
in many ways. 
•• Beginning with themselves, have your children 
identify how they could be harmed by fire.
•• Expand that circle of impact to those closest to them.
•• Then move outwards, (example- schools, 
neighborhood, friends’ families, etc.) until they are 
able to see the greatest extent of their impact. 

4.	 Complete the following exercises with your child, 
making sure that they understand what their role is in 
preventing fires.
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Home Safety Checklist
FIRE CAN SPREAD RAPIDLY THROUGH YOUR 
HOME, LEAVING LESS THAN THREE MINUTES 
TO ESCAPE SAFELY ONCE THE SMOKE ALARM 
SOUNDS. MAKE SURE YOUR HOME IS SAFE 
AND THAT YOUR FAMILY IS PREPARED.
SMOKE ALARMS ARE:

	On every level of the home 
	Inside bedrooms and outside sleeping areas 
	Tested each month and batteries are changed as 
needed 

	Less than 10 years old 
	Available for Deaf and hard of hearing if needed

CARBON MONOXIDE ALARMS ARE:
	Located on each level of the home where bedrooms 
are located 

	Should be placed inside or outside of the bedrooms 
	Tested monthly

CANDLE, LIGHTER, AND MATCH SAFETY 
	Candles are kept out of children’s reach 
	Matches and lighters are locked and stored  
out of children’s reach 

	Use battery operated flameless candles 


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 COOKING SAFETY 
	Make sure there is a fire extinguisher in the home and 
that parent(s) know how to use it properly 

	The cooking surface is clear of all things that can burn 
	Remain in the kitchen when you are boiling, frying, 
grilling, or broiling food 

	Turn pot or pan handles toward back of the stove 
	Children and pets should be kept at least 3 feet away 
from the stove area 

	Ensure small appliances are in proper working order 
and are unplugged when not in use

HOME FIRE ESCAPE PLAN 
	Make an escape plan for everyone who lives in the 
home and practice it often

	Designate a safe meeting place outside, in front of  
the home

	Know two ways out of each room 
	Have a plan for young children who cannot get out  
by themselves

IN THE EVENT OF A FIRE IT IS VERY IMPORTANT 
TO BE PREPARED AND GET OUT QUICKLY!
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Fire Safety Contract

THE BEST WAY TO CONTROL A FIRE IS NEVER 
TO START ONE. PREVENTING FIRES IS ALWAYS 
EASIER THAN PUTTING THEM OUT.

Contract of 
Responsibilities for 
Youth and Parent/
Caregiver 

THIS CONTRACT OUTLINES SEVERAL 
STEPS BOTH CHILDREN AND THEIR 
PARENTS/CAREGIVERS SHOULD TAKE 
TO PREVENT FIRES MISUSE IN THE 
HOME. TAKING THESE STEPS WILL 
INCREASE SAFETY IN THE HOME.  
THEY MAY NOT ELIMINATE ALL FIRE 
RISKS AND ARE NOT A SUBSTITUTE  
FOR PARENT/CAREGIVER SUPERVISION.
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THE YOUTH (initial on line)

 ____ I will not have matches, lighters, cigarettes, lighter 
fluid, other flammable liquids, fireworks, or aerosol 
cans such as body spray.

____ I will submit to searches of myself and my property 
by my parent or caregiver. (This includes both 
personal property and spaces such as my bedroom, 
backpack, car, etc.)

____ I will complete a home fire escape plan with my 
family and practice it with my parent or caregiver.

____ I will tell an adult if I find matches or lighters.

____ I will remove myself from any situation where others 
may be engaging in any form of fire activity.

____ Other 

Youth	  				    Date	
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THE PARENT (initial on line)

 ____ I will install and maintain working smoke alarms in 
the home.

____ I will install and maintain a working, Class 2A-10BC, 
fire extinguisher for every level of the home and 
garage.

____ I will store all matches, lighters and fireworks where 
the youth cannot get them, preferably in a locked 
cabinet.

____ I will lock up all flammable chemicals such as 
turpentine, gasoline, lighter fluid or charcoal starter 
for barbecues.

____ If a smoker, I will keep lighters on my person and 
not left unattended. 

____ I will conduct routine searches of the youth’s 
bedroom and possessions for matches or lighters.

____ I will monitor the youth’s access to the internet for 
information that shows how to modify fireworks, 
manufacture destructive devices or youth misusing 
fire in some way.
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____ I will increase supervision of the youth. The youth will 
also not be allowed to be alone or unsupervised in 
other peoples homes. 

____ I will set firm rules that any child in the house should 
not touch matches, lighters, barbecue lighters, flares, 
fireworks or any other object that could potentially 
set a fire.

____ I will set fire safety rules and consequences 
for breaking them. I will discuss the rules 
and consequences with my child to check for 
understanding.

____ If my family uses candles for cultural or religious 
purposes, I will use battery-powered or electric 
candles, or will create a safer environment for a real 
candle by placing the candle holder in a bowl of sand.

____ I will complete the home safety checklist included in 
this resource.

____ Other 

Parent or Guardian 				   Date	

Interventionist				    Date

16



The laws summarized in this booklet are
provided for informational purposes only.

If you have any questions about these
laws or other questions concerning your
legal liability or that of your child in the

youth fire setting context, please contact
your local district attorney.
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Thank You 
For completing this Parent Guide. You now have more 

awareness of how you can play an active role in  
teaching fire safe behavior.  
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