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RULES: 

855-104-0005, 855-104-0010, 855-104-0015, 855-104-0050, 855-104-0055, 855-104-0060, 855-104-0100, 855-

104-0105, 855-104-0110, 855-104-0115, 855-104-0150

ADOPT: 855-104-0005

NOTICE FILED DATE: 06/15/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Relocates and revises existing rule from OAR 855-001-0030 to OAR 855-104-0005.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

855-104-0005 
Duty to Cooperate  
(1) Applicants, licensees, and registrants must timely comply with all board requests, including responding 
accurately, fully and truthfully to inquiries and providing requested materials within the time allowed by the board 
and complying with a subpoena. ¶ 
(2) Applicants, licensees, and registrants must comply with the terms of board orders and agreements. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 689.205 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 676.612
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ADOPT: 855-104-0010

NOTICE FILED DATE: 06/15/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Relocates and revises existing rules in OAR 855-019-0205, OAR 855-025-0020, and OAR 855-031-

0020(10)-(12) related to duty to report.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

855-104-0010 
Responsibilities: Duty to Report 
(1) Unless state or federal laws relating to confidentiality or the protection of health information prohibit 
disclosure, each licensee must report to the board without undue delay, but within¶ 
(a) 10 days if they:¶ 
(A) Are convicted of a misdemeanor or a felony; or¶ 
(B) Are arrested for a felony; or¶ 
(C) Have reasonable cause to believe that any suspected violation of ORS 475, ORS 689 or OAR 855 has 
occurred.¶ 
(b) 10 working days if they have reasonable cause to believe that another licensee (of the board or any other 
Health Professional Regulatory Board) has engaged in prohibited or unprofessional conduct to that licensee's 
board; or¶ 
(c) 15 days, if any change in:¶ 
(A) Legal name;¶ 
(B) For Pharmacists and Interns, name used when engaging in the practice of pharmacy and for Certified Oregon 
Pharmacy Technicians and Pharmacy Technicians, name used when assisting in the practice of pharmacy.¶ 
(C) Preferred email address;¶ 
(D) Personal phone number;¶ 
(E) Personal physical address;¶ 
(F) Personal mailing address; and¶ 
(G) Employer.¶ 
(2) A licensee who reports to a board in good faith as required by ORS 676.150 is immune from civil liability for 
making the report.¶ 
(3) A Pharmacist, Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician or Pharmacy Technician who reports to a board in good 
faith as required by ORS 689.455 is not subject to an action for civil damages as a result thereof. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 689.205 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 676.150, ORS 689.155, ORS 689.455, ORS 689.486
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ADOPT: 855-104-0015

NOTICE FILED DATE: 06/15/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Relocates and revises existing rules in OAR 855-025-0030, OAR 855-041-1055, OAR 855-139-

0602, OAR 855-141-0602 and OAR 855-143-0602 related to confidentiality. Imposes same requirements related to 

confidentiality on all licensees and registrants. 

CHANGES TO RULE: 

855-104-0015 
Responsibilities: Confidentiality 
(1) No licensee or registrant of the board who obtains any patient information may disclose that information to a 
third-party without the consent of the patient except as provided in (2)(a)-(e) of this rule.¶ 
(2) A licensee or registrant may disclose patient information:¶ 
(a) To the board;¶ 
(b) To a practitioner, Pharmacist, Intern, Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician, Pharmacy Technician or 
registrant, if disclosure is authorized by a Pharmacist and disclosure is necessary to protect the patient's health or 
well-being; or¶ 
(c) To a third-party when disclosure is authorized or required by law; or¶ 
(d) As permitted pursuant to federal and state patient confidentiality laws; or¶ 
(e) To the patient or to persons as authorized by the patient.¶ 
(3) A licensee or registrant of the board may not access or obtain any patient information unless it is accessed or 
obtained for the purpose of patient care or as allowed in (2)(a)-(e) of this rule. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 689.205, ORS 689.305, ORS 689.315 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 689.155
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ADOPT: 855-104-0050

NOTICE FILED DATE: 06/15/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Relocates existing licensee and registrant requirements related to patient’s access to pharmacy 

records from OAR 855-041-1167 to OAR 855-104-0050.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

855-104-0050 
Patients Access to Pharmacy Records 
(1) Licensees and registrants of the board must make health information in the pharmacy record available to the 
patient or the patient's representative upon their request, to inspect and obtain a copy of health information 
about the individual, except as provided by law and this rule. The patient may request all or part of the record. A 
summary may substitute for the actual record only if the patient agrees to the substitution. Board licensees and 
registrants are encouraged to use the written authorization form provided by ORS 192.566.¶ 
(2) For the purpose of this rule, "health information in the pharmacy record" means any oral, written or electronic 
information in any form or medium that is created or received and relates to:¶ 
(a) The past, present, or future physical or mental health of the patient.¶ 
(b) The provision of healthcare to the patient.¶ 
(c) The past, present, or future payment for the provision of healthcare to the patient.¶ 
(3) Upon request, the entire health information record in the possession of the board licensee will be provided to 
the patient. This includes records from other healthcare providers. Information which may be withheld includes:¶ 
(a) Information which was obtained from someone other than a healthcare provider under a promise of 
confidentiality and access to the information would likely reveal the source of the information;¶ 
(b) Psychotherapy notes;¶ 
(c) Information compiled in reasonable anticipation of, or for use in, a civil, criminal, or administrative action or 
proceeding; and¶ 
(d) Other reasons specified by federal regulation.¶ 
(4) Registrants who have permanently closed must notify patients according to OAR 855-041-1092.¶ 
(5) A reasonable cost may be imposed for the costs incurred in complying with the patient's request for health 
information pursuant to ORS 192.563.¶ 
(6) A patient may not be denied summaries or copies of pharmacy records because of inability to pay.¶ 
(7) Requests for pharmacy records must be complied with within a reasonable amount of time not to exceed 30 
days from the receipt of the request. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 689.205 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 192.553, ORS 192.556, ORS 192.558, ORS 192.563, ORS 192.566
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ADOPT: 855-104-0055

NOTICE FILED DATE: 06/15/2023

RULE SUMMARY: New universal rule adds standardized licensee and registrant requirements related to record and 

document retention.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

855-104-0055 
Record and Document Retention 
(1) Each licensee and registrant must create documents and retain records required by ORS 475, ORS 689, and 
OAR 855. Documents and records:¶ 
(a) May be in written or electronic format; ¶ 
(b) Must be stored securely;¶ 
(c) Must be made available to the board upon request; and¶ 
(d) Must be retained for 3 years except that:¶ 
(A) Clinical pharmacy records must be retained for 7 years; and¶ 
(B) Training records for immunization administration and protocol and formulary compendia prescribing, must be 
retained for 6 years or uploaded into the licensee's electronic licensing record with the board;¶ 
(2) Records generated by a registrant:¶ 
(a) Must be stored on-site by the registrant for at least 12 months and must be provided to the board immediately 
upon request at the time of inspection; ¶ 
(b) May be stored in a secured off-site location after 12 months of storage at the registrant and must be provided 
to the board upon request within 3 business days;¶ 
(3) Records generated in the practice of pharmacy that do not belong to a registrant must be stored by a 
Pharmacist in a secure manner and provided to the board upon request within 3 business days; and¶ 
(4) Records must be retained for longer periods of time than required under this rule if:¶ 
(a) Federal law provides for a longer retention schedule; or¶ 
(b) Licensee or registrant has received notice of a Board investigation to which the records would be relevant; ¶ 
(c) Licensee or registrant has received a Board request to retain the records for a longer period of time. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 689.205 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 689.155, ORS 689.508
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ADOPT: 855-104-0060

NOTICE FILED DATE: 06/15/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Placeholder for future rules related to public records request to the board. 

CHANGES TO RULE: 

855-104-0060 
Public Records Request to the Board 
Placeholder 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 689.205 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 192.440
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ADOPT: 855-104-0100

NOTICE FILED DATE: 06/15/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Relocates existing rule from OAR 855-001-0012 to OAR 855-104-0100 related to time for 

requesting a contested case hearing.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

855-104-0100 
Time for Requesting a Contested Case Hearing 
A request for a contested case hearing must be in writing and must be received by the board within 21 days from 
the date the contested case notice was served. When the board has issued a denial of a license, a request for a 
contested case hearing must be in writing and must be received by the board within 60 days from the date the 
licensure denial was served. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 689.205 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 689.151, ORS 183.435
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ADOPT: 855-104-0105

NOTICE FILED DATE: 06/15/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Relocates and revises existing rule from OAR 855-001-0016 to OAR 855-104-0105 related to filing 

exceptions and argument to the board.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

855-104-0105 
Filing Exceptions and Argument to the Board 
After a proposed order has been served on a party, the party has 30 days to file written exceptions with the board 
from receipt of the proposed order. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 689.205 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 689.151
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ADOPT: 855-104-0110

NOTICE FILED DATE: 06/15/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Relocates existing rule from OAR 855-001-0017 to OAR 855-104-0110 related to petitions for 

reconsideration or rehearing as a condition for judicial review.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

855-104-0110 
Petition for Reconsideration or Rehearing as Condition for Judicial Review 
All parties, including limited parties, must file a petition for reconsideration or rehearing with the board as a 
condition for obtaining judicial review of any order of the board. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 689.205 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 689.151
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ADOPT: 855-104-0115

NOTICE FILED DATE: 06/15/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Relocates and revises existing rule from OAR 855-001-0040 to OAR 855-104-0115 related to 

inspections.

CHANGES TO RULE: 

855-104-0115 
Inspections  
(1) A Compliance Officer is a board authorized representative and must be permitted entry to any drug outlet to 
conduct inspections at all reasonable hours. ¶ 
(2) The Compliance Officer is authorized and must be permitted to perform the following to determine compliance 
with ORS 475, ORS 689, and OAR 855 and board orders including but not limited to:¶ 
(a) Inspecting conditions, structures, equipment, materials, and methods for compliance;¶ 
(b) Inspecting all drugs and devices;¶ 
(c) Taking photographs, recording video and audio; and¶ 
(d) Reviewing, verifying and making copies of records and documents.¶ 
(3) All licensees and employees must fully comply and cooperate with all questions and requests made by the 
Compliance Officer at the time of inspection. ¶ 
(4) Refusal to allow inspection is grounds for discipline. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 475.125, ORS 689.205 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 689.155
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ADOPT: 855-104-0150

NOTICE FILED DATE: 06/15/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Relocates and revises existing rule from OAR 855-010-0130 to OAR 855-104-0150 related to 

military spouse or domestic partner licensure, adds "intern" to licensee types that may qualify under the rule. 

CHANGES TO RULE: 

855-104-0150 
Military Spouse or Domestic Partner Licensure Process 
(1) "Military spouse or domestic partner" means a spouse or domestic partner of an active member of the Armed 
Forces of the United States who is the subject of a military transfer to Oregon. ¶ 
(2) To qualify for licensure under this rule, the military spouse or domestic partner must meet the following 
requirements: ¶ 
(a) Meet the qualifications for licensure as stated in OAR 855-115, OAR 855-120 or OAR 855-125.¶ 
(b) Be married to, or in a domestic partnership with, a member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is 
assigned to a duty station located in Oregon by official active duty military order;¶ 
(c) Applicant must complete an application for licensure, provide the board with a valid email address, and 
complete and pass a national fingerprint-based criminal background check ;¶ 
(d) Provide evidence of current licensure as a pharmacist, intern or pharmacy technician issued by another state;¶ 
(e) Provide to the board, in a manner determined by the board, sufficient proof that the person is in good standing 
with the issuing out-of-state professional licensing board; and ¶ 
(f) Demonstrate competency as a pharmacist, intern or pharmacy technician by having at least one year of active 
practice during the three years immediately preceding the application.¶ 
(3) A temporary authorization under this section is valid until the earliest of the following: ¶ 
(a) Two years after the date of issuance; ¶ 
(b) The date the spouse or domestic partner of the person to whom the authorization was issued completes the 
spouse's term of service in this state; or¶ 
(c) The date the person's authorization issued by the other state expires.¶ 
(4) A temporary authorization issued under this section is not renewable. 
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 689.205 
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 689.151, ORS 689.265, ORS 670.400, ORS 670.403
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