Office use only: **0604** 41701 \$30.00

Oregon Mortuary and Cemetery Board 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 430 Portland OR 97232-2195 www.oregon.gov/MortCem 971-673-1507 phone 971-673-1501 fax

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF REMOVAL REGISTRATION

Please	Print Legibly or Type:			
	Funeral Establish	ment Name and License	Number (as issued by State Board)	
	owner of licensed funeral establish	ment (true corporate, firm	m or individual name, as identified wi	th State Board)
	all individual stockholders (na owner, including percent o		ners that own or control voting	stock in the abov
1.		2.		
	print true name	%	print true name	%
3.		4.		
J	print true name	%	print true name	%
Physi	cal Street Address of FE:			
		print contact	name	
		street (do not list a po	ost office box)	
		street (do not ust a po	ost office box)	
		city, state,	zip	
	telephone		fax	
3.6.111	A 11 CEE			
Maili	ng Address of FE:			
t your s	tate's removal registration law(s)	by the specific title, ch	apter, section, rule, code and / or re	gulation number(s)
(Failin			law(s) that are <u>not</u> substantially similar to	o Oregon's removal
	registration law is regard		olete application which will be returned.	
т		CERTIFIC	ATION	
I,	(prin	t name and title of duly a	authorized person)	,
form a Certifi	that I am a duly authorized officend any attachments is true and co	cer or agent of the aboverrect. I understand that m the Oregon Mortuar	ve-named facility owner and that al t each FE of the applicant owner my y and Cemetery Board before remo	ast receive a separat
	Signature of duly author	rized person		date

A Certificate of Removal Registration allows funeral service practitioners employed by a licensed funeral establishment (FE) licensed in a contiguous state to remove human remains from Oregon before submitting a death certificate. In order to qualify, an FE must be located in a neighboring state with removal laws substantially similar to Oregon's. The applicant must provide a reference to those removal laws that are substantially similar to Oregon's with this application, or this application will be returned as incomplete. The non-refundable application fee is \$30, and is a one-time fee. Renewal is not required. The registration does not expire unless there is a change of ownership. Each branch of a registrant's FE is a separate establishment and must be registered as a fixed place of business. ORS 432.317(9); ORS 692.160(a); ORS 692.270

The conduct of a funeral service practitioner or any other person employed by or acting on behalf of a removal registrant shall be the direct responsibility of the holder of a Certificate of Removal Registration. For any of the causes described in ORS 692.180, or for violation of any death care rule or law in another state, the Oregon Mortuary and Cemetery Board may impose upon the holder of a Certificate of Removal Registration or applicant any of the sanctions described in ORS 692.180.

ORS 432.005(7) "Final disposition" means the burial, interment, cremation, removal from the state or other authorized disposition of a dead body or fetus, except that when removal from the state is conducted by the holder of a certificate of removal registration issued under ORS 692.270, the final disposition may not be considered complete until the certificate of death is filed.

ORS 432.317(9) Prior to removing a dead body or fetus from the State of Oregon under ORS 692.270, a person acting as a funeral service practitioner as defined in ORS 432.005(11)(b) shall submit a written notice of removal to the county registrar in the county in which death occurred or in which the body or fetus was found. The notice shall be on a form prescribed and furnished by the State Registrar of the Center for Health Statistics and in accordance with rules adopted by the Oregon Health Authority. A copy of the written notice of removal shall serve as a transit permit for the remains of the decedent named on the notice.

The mission of the Oregon Mortuary and Cemetery Board is to protect public health, safety and welfare by fairly and efficiently performing its licensing, inspection and enforcement duties; by promoting professional behavior and standards in all facets of the Oregon death care industry; and, by maintaining constructive relationships with licensees, those they serve and others with an interest in the Board's activities. In order to protect the public, it is the Board's responsibility to insure that all of Oregon's death care facilities are properly licensed.

The Board is self-supporting and derives its financing from licensing, examination, and a portion of the death certificate filing fee (not the fees derived from the purchase of a certified copy of a death certificate).

Law References Page 1 of 1