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Division 300
GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

331-300-0010
Definitions

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-300-0010 to 331-350-0000:

(1) “CBMT” means the Certification Board for Music Therapists.

(2) “Good standing” means no unresolved or outstanding disciplinary actions.
(3) “Office” means the Health Licensing Office.

(4) “NMTR” means the National Music Therapy Registry.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
History:

HLO 25-2018, minor correction filed 02/02/2018, effective 02/02/2018

HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15

331-300-0020
Fees

(1) An applicant or certificate holder is subject to the provisions of OAR 331-010-0010 and 331-
010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penalties and charges.

(2) Fees established by the Health Licensing Office pursuant to ORS 676.576 are as follows:
(a) Application: $150.

(b) License: $50 — valid for one year.

(c) Renewal: $50 — valid for one year.

(d) Replacement: $25.

(e) Late fee: $40 for each year of inactive status up to three years.

(f) Affidavit of licensure, as defined in OAR 331-030-0040: $50.

(9) Administrative fee: $25.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
History:

HLO 26-2018, minor correction filed 02/02/2018, effective 02/02/2018

HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon_administrative rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701
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Division 310
LICENSURE OF MUSIC THERAPISTS

331-310-0020
Application Requirements for Initial Licensure for Music Therapist

(1) An individual applying for initial licensure as a music therapist must:
(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 division 30.

(b) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Office, which must contain the
information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required
application fees.

(c) Be at least 18 years old.

(d) Arrange for official documentation to be mailed to the Office from the certifying organization
proving that the applicant:

(A) Successfully passed the CBMT examination in the two years before the application date, or

(B) Possesses current CBMT certification, or

” o«

(C) Possesses the professional designation of “registered music therapist,” “certified music

therapist” or “advanced certified music therapist” from the NMTR.
(e) Pay all licensing fees.

)
(2) If an applicant is licensed or certified in another state, they must:
(a) Be in good standing in every state in which they are licensed or certified, and
(b) Ensure that the Office receives an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-0040.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
History:

HLO 27-2018, minor correction filed 02/02/2018, effective 02/02/2018

HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15

331-310-0025
Application Requirements for Reciprocity for Music Therapist

An individual applying for reciprocity for music therapist licensing must:

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 Division 30.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon _administrative rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701
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(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Office, which must contain the
information listed in OAR 331-030-0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required
application fees.

(3) Be at least 18 years old.

(4) Submit an affidavit of licensure pursuant to OAR 331-030-0040, proving that the applicant is
in good standing in every state in which they are licensed or certified.

(5) Have a registration issued by another state or territory of the United States, and the
requirements must be substantially equivalent to those in Oregon Laws 2015, Chapter 632.

(6) Pay all license fees.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
History:

HLO 28-2018, minor correction filed 02/02/2018, effective 02/02/2018

HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15

331-310-0030
Licensure Issuance and Renewal

(1) Licensure and renewal: A license is subject to the provisions of OAR Chapter 331, division
30 regarding the issuance and renewal of a license, provisions regarding authorization to
practice, identification, and requirements for issuance of a duplicate license.

(2) License renewal: To avoid delinquency penalties, a license must be renewed before the
license becomes inactive as described in section (3) of this rule. The licensee must:

(a) Submit a renewal application form;

(b) Attest to having obtained the continuing education pursuant to 331-320-0010.
(c) Pass a state criminal background check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004, and
(d) Pay the renewal fee pursuant to OAR 331-300-0020.

(3) Inactive license renewal: A license becomes inactive if it is not renewed before its “active
through” date. A license may be inactive for up to three years, but an inactive license does not
authorize its holder to practice music therapy or use the title or designation of “Music Therapist.”
To renew an inactive license, the licensee must:

(a) Submit a renewal application form;

(b) Attest to having obtained the continuing education pursuant to OAR 331-320-0010;
(c) Pass a state criminal background check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004; and

(d) Pay the delinquency and renewal fees pursuant to OAR 331-300-0020.

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon _administrative rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701
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(4) Expired license: A license that has been inactive for more than three years is expired, and

the licensee must reapply for licensure and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-310-0020
or OAR 331-310-0025.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
History:

HLO 29-2018, minor correction filed 02/02/2018, effective 02/02/2018

HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon_administrative rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701
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Division 320
CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR MUSIC THERAPISTS

331-320-0010
Continuing Education Requirements

(1) To maintain licensure, a music therapist must complete a minimum of 10 CE credits every
year.

(2) CE credits obtained in excess of those required for the current one-year reporting period
may be carried forward for up to four years. However, no more than 40 annual excess CE
credits may be carried forward.

(3) Excess CE credits may not be used to reinstate an expired license.

(4) Each licensee shall document compliance with the CE credit requirement through attestation
on the license renewal application. Licensees are subject to provisions of OAR 331-320-0020
pertaining to periodic audit of CE.

(5) Upon CE credit audit, the licensee must provide documentation supporting all credits
claimed and all excess credits carried forward.

(6) CE credits must address a subject matter related to music therapy practice.
(7) CE credits will be awarded based on the following criteria:

(a) Completion and passing of academic courses taken from an accredited college or university
are awarded 15 CE credits for each semester-based credit earned, 14 CE credits for each
trimester-based credit earned or 10 CE credits for each quarter-based credit earned;

(b) Completion of professional courses that meet academic course requirements in content,
instruction and evaluation will be assigned 15 CE credits for each semester-based credit
earned, 14 CE credits for each trimester-based credit earned or 10 CE credits for each quarter-
based credit earned;

(c) Courses that do not meet standards as set forth in paragraphs (a) and (b) of this subsection,
such as workshops, symposiums, seminars, laboratory exercises, or any applied experience
with or without formal classroom work may be assigned credit at the rate of 1.0 CE credit for
each 50 minutes of attendance.

(8) Documentation supporting compliance with CE requirements must be maintained for a
period of two years following renewal and be available to the Office upon request.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
History:

HLO 30-2018, minor correction filed 02/02/2018, effective 02/02/2018

HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon _administrative rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701
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331-320-0020
Continuing Education Audit

(1) The Office will audit a percentage of licensees, as determined by the Office, to verify
compliance with continuing education requirements of this rule.

(2) Licensees notified of selection for audit of continuing education attestation shall submit to the
Office, within 30 calendar days of the date of issuance of the notification, satisfactory evidence
of participation in required continuing education in accordance with OAR 331-150-0005.

(3) If selected for audit, the registrant must provide documentation of the required continuing
education, which must include:

(a) For courses provided by an accredited college or university — a course syllabus and an
official transcript from the accredited college or university;

(b) For CBMT or NMTR approved programs or courses — a certificate of completion that
includes the CBMT or NMTR approval number; or

(c) For Office pre-approved programs or courses — a certificate of completion or other Office-
approved documentation that includes the Office pre-approval number.

(4) If documentation of continuing education is incomplete, the registrant has an additional 30
calendar days from the date of notice of incompleteness to submit further documentation to
substantiate having completed the required continuing education.

(5) Failure to meet continuing education requirements shall constitute grounds for disciplinary
action, which may include, but is not limited to, assessment of a civil penalty and suspension or
revocation of registration.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
History:

HLO 31-2018, minor correction filed 02/02/2018, effective 02/02/2018

HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon _administrative rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701
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Division 330
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE AND PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY

331-330-0010
Standards of Practice and Professional Responsibility

(1) A licensed music therapist must:

(a) Protect the confidentiality of information obtained in the course of practice, supervision,
teaching or research.

(b) Comply with all local, state and federal regulations concerning the practice of music therapy.

(c) Abide by the American Music Therapy Association (AMTA) Code of Ethics (Revised 11/14)
and the AMTA Standards of Clinical Practice (revised 11/23/13).

(2) A licensed music therapist must not:

(a) Discriminate in professional relationships with colleagues and clients because of race,
ethnicity, language, religion, marital status, gender, gender identity of expression, sexual
orientation, age, ability, socioeconomic status or political affiliation.

(b) Use deceptive or misleading advertising or make guarantees that lead to false expectations.
(c) Accept gratuities, gifts or favors that could interfere with decisions or judgment.
(d) Take financial advantage of a client or a client’s family.

(3) Failure to comply with these standards may constitute unprofessional conduct, and that is
subject to discipline under ORS 676.612.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
History:

HLO 32-2018, minor correction filed 02/02/2018, effective 02/02/2018

HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon _administrative rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701
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Division 340
DISCIPLINE AND ENFORCEMENT

331-340-0010
Investigative Authority

The Office may initiate and conduct investigations relating to the practice of music therapy
pursuant to ORS 676.608, and may take appropriate disciplinary action in accordance with the
provisions of 676.612 and 676.992.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 676.560, ORS 676.565 & ORS 681.700-681.730
History:

HLO 33-2018, minor correction filed 02/02/2018, effective 02/02/2018

HLO 4-2015, f. 10-6-15, cert. ef. 12-1-15

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website:
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon_administrative rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701
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