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Oregon Law on Consent for STI Testing and 
Treatment of Minors 
Oregon law states that minors 15 years 
of age or older can consent to medical 
services without the consent of a 
parent or guardian (ORS 109.640). 
Minors of any age can consent to 
testing and/or treatment of a sexually 
transmitted infection (STI), including 
HIV, without consent of a parent or 
guardian if the STI is one which is 
required to be reported to a local or 
state health authority (ORS 109.610).  
In Oregon, minors are individuals  
under 18 years of age.  

Age requirements for minors to consent without a 
parent/guardian 
The table below shows the age at which minors can consent to testing and/or treatment for 
common STIs without consent of a parent/guardian. 

Any age* 15 years of age or older 
Chlamydia Herpes simplex virus 
Gonorrhea Human papillomavirus (HPV) 
Syphilis  
HIV  

* When these conditions are diagnosed, health care providers and laboratories must  
report cases to the local or state health authority (ORS 433.004, OAR 333-018).  

Can health care providers inform a parent/guardian of a 
minor’s STI test or treatment? 
A hospital or medical provider may inform a parent/guardian of a minor’s diagnosis or 
treatment without the consent of the minor and is not liable for advising the parent/guardian 
without the minor’s consent (ORS 109.640). 
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https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors109.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors109.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors433.html
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=1233
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors109.html
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Oregon law allows patients enrolled in a private health insurance policy the right to  
request that protected health information be sent directly to them instead of the policy  
holder (HB 2758). Minors insured through a parent/guardian may redirect insurance 
communications about health care services by completing the Oregon Request for 
Confidential Communication form and submitting it to their insurance company.  
Patients should confirm that their request has been fully processed to ensure that  
information about their visit is not sent to the policy holder. This law does not apply to  
those covered by Oregon Health Plan. 
Confidentiality policies should be discussed with minors seeking STI testing  
and/or treatment. 

Who is responsible for payment? 
Parents/guardians who have not given consent for STI testing and/or treatment of  
a minor are not legally responsible for payment of these services (ORS 109.610).  
Payment methods should be discussed with minors seeking STI testing and/or  
treatment as necessary. 

Resources 
Contact the STD Prevention Program at 971-673-0153 with any questions. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
You can get this document in other languages, large print, braille or a format you prefer. 
Contact STD Prevention Program at 971-673-0153. We accept all relay calls or you  
can dial 711. 
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https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/HEALTHYPEOPLEFAMILIES/REPRODUCTIVESEXUALHEALTH/RESOURCES/Documents/Data%20and%20Reports/PatientPrivacyProviderEducation.pdf
https://dfr.oregon.gov/help/Documents/5059.pdf
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors109.html
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