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BOOST ‘EM BEFORE YOU BUCKLE ‘EM

BOOST ‘EM BEFORE you buckle
‘em, because one size does not
fit all. That’s the message of

the new “booster seat” law, which
becomes effective on January 1,
2002. This law requires drivers to use
approved booster seats that elevate
children aged 4–6 years and 40–60
lbs. to make standard seat belts fit the
kids properly. Violation of this law is
a Class D traffic infraction carrying a
$77 penalty. Much of the success of
this measure will depend on parents
demonstrating “who’s the boss” when
confronted by a four-year-old who
doesn’t want to sit in the “baby seat.”

This CD Summary reviews the
problem in Oregon and provides
some strategies you as clinicians can
use to help parents “boost” the num-
ber of children using booster seats.
THE PROBLEM

Motor vehicle crashes are a leading
cause of death in Oregon children.
Child Fatality Review data from
1997–1999 show that 13 children 4–6
years of age died in motor vehicle
crashes. Only one of them was re-
strained in a belt-positioning booster
seat, and that device was used incor-
rectly. Hospital discharge data from
1997–1999 indicate that 124 Oregon
children aged 4–6 years were hospi-
talized due to injuries sustained in
motor vehicle crashes. Although not
using a booster seat likely contributed
to some of these injuries, we are
unable to evaluate this because boost-
er seat use is not generally included
in hospitalization records.

Children aged 4–6 years die or are
seriously injured in motor vehicle
crashes principally because they are
not restrained in a booster seat or are
inadequately restrained in a seat belt
designed for an adult. The typical

adult seat belt rides up over the stom-
ach of a child, and the shoulder belt
cuts across the neck. In a crash, a
child can slide out from under the
seat belt to hit a windshield or the
seat in front of them, or be ejected
from the car. If the belt catches the
child in  the abdomen, it can cause
internal injuries.1 Children cannot be
safely and properly restrained with
lap or shoulder belts designed for
adults until they are 70–80 lbs. in
weight and 4’9" in height.

A belt-positioning “booster seat”
raises the child so that the shoulder
belt fits across the chest and the lap
belt lies low and flat across the
thighs. It is more comfortable for kids
because it allows them to bend their
legs properly over the seat.

As we all know, seat belts and
child safety seats save lives. Studies
have shown seat belts to be 45% to
65% effective in reducing crash-
related injury or death among adults,2

and child safety seats reduce the risk
of death in kids by 55% to 70%.3

While Oregon has some of the high-
est safety restraint use in the nation,
(91% among adults and 69% among
children aged 0–4 in 2001), and gen-
eral knowledge that these devices are
effective is high, the use of booster
seats is very low.4 After age 4 years,
the percentage of children riding
unrestrained or improperly restrained
is widespread because many parents
are unaware of the need for additional
protection that booster seats provide.
THE SOLUTIONS

Parents need to find a belt-posi-
tioning booster seat that fits both the
car and the child.5 Parents will also
need “backbone-building” support to
strengthen their resolve to win the
war of the booster seat with their 4–6

year olds, who are often opponents
to initiating this new safety behav-
ior. The most common reasons that
booster seats are not used include:
• Parental misconceptions about

safety equipment;2

• Parents believe the child is large
enough and no longer needs a
booster seat;

• Parents are using some other
safety device like an adult seat
belt;

• There is a hassle or problem with
using the seat;

• Child does not like the seat.1

This is where YOU come in.
Counseling about the importance of
booster seats for a child’s safety can
encourage parents to buy and use
them.Guidance to parents should
include:
• Information about state law re-

quiring booster seat use;
• Description of how a booster seat

protects better than an adult seat
belt;

• Encouragement to purchase, in-
stall and consistently use booster
seats;

• Exploration of strategies to em-
ploy with resistant kids.

RESOURCES
• Oregon’s Child Safety Seat Re-

source Center, 1-800/772-1315 in
Oregon and 503/656-7207 in
Portland, or visit http://www.
actsoregon.wego.com

• Adrienne Greene, the Child Injury
Prevention Coordinator in the
Injury Prevention and Epidemiol-
ogy Program at the Department of
Human Services Office of Disease
Prevention and Epidemiology at:
503/731-4241, or visit http://
www.ohd. hr.state.or. us/ipe/
child.htm.

mailto:cd.summary@state.or.us
http://www.ohd.hr.state.or.us/cdpe/


CD SUMMARYThe CD Summary (ISSN 0744-7035) is published biweekly, free of
charge, by the Oregon Dept. of Human Services, Office of Disease
Prevention and Epidemiology, 800 NE Oregon St., Portland, OR 97232
Periodicals postage paid at Portland, Oregon.
Postmaster—send address changes to:
CD Summary, 800 NE Oregon St., Suite 730, Portland, OR 97232

PERIODICALS
POSTAGE

PAID
Portland, Oregon

If you need this material in
an alternate format, call us
at 503/731-4024.

October 23, 2001
Vol. 50, No. 23

IF YOU WOULD PREFER to have your CD Summary delivered by e-mail,
zap your request to cd.summary@state.or.us. Please include your
full name and address (not just your e-mail address), so that we can
effectively purge you from our print mailing list, thus helping to save
trees, taxpayer dollars, postal worker injuries, etc.

Oxycodone Deaths in
Oregon

OXYCODONE IS A GOD-SEND for
people with moderate to se-
vere pain, but, because of its

potential for abuse, it is also gaining
notoriety and inspiring headlines
like “Deaths linked to painkiller
raise fear,”1 and “Oxycontin abuse
puts medical personnel on alert.”2

Oxycodone, also called “oxycott-
on” and “hillbilly heroin,” is a semi-
synthetic opioid analgesic that has
gained infamy throughout the US as a
highly addictive recreational drug of
abuse. The timed-release preparation,
also known as Oxycontin™, received
FDA approval in 1996. It was devel-
oped to be taken orally once every 12
hours, but is now also being crushed
and snorted or injected intravenously
to cause an intense high. Abuse of
this drug and other related prescrip-
tion medications appears to be in-
creasing dramatically throughout the
country. A recent report from the
National Institute on Drug Abuse
(NIDA) documents that in a national
sample of 21 cities, emergency de-
partment visits that mention the
abuse of oxycodone almost doubled
from 3,395 visits in 1993 to 6,429 in
1999.3

Like the rest of the US, Oregon
is suffering an increase in deaths
from oxycodone abuse. Between
January 1998 and April 2001, 30
died in association with oxycodone
overdose.

Deaths associated with oxycodone
overdose, Oregon, Jan. 1998–Jun. 2001

        The median age of decedents
was 40.5 years, with a range from 4
years to 86 years, including one child
and two teens. Fourteen decedents
(47%) were male, and 27 (90%) were
white. Deaths have been reported in
residents of eight Oregon counties.

When used appropriately, medica-
tions such as oxycodone can improve
the quality of life for Americans
with debilitating pain. Physicians
will need to balance the imperative
to treat pain aggressively with the
potential for abuse.
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• Carla Levinski at Oregon Depart-
ment of Transportation at: 503/
986-4199, or visit www.odot.
state.or.us/transafety/Occupant_
Protection/occupant_protection_
main.htm.

• The National Highway Transpor-
tation Safety Administration’s
website includes a brochure enti-
tled: “A Parent’s Guide to Boost-
er Seats” at: http://ww.nhtsa.dot.
gov/people/injury/childps/
booster_seat/page1.html.

� The text of Oregon’s “booster
seat” law that will go into effect
on January 1, 2002 at: http://
www.leg. state.or. us/01reg/mea-
sures/hb3100.dir/hb3155.en.html.
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County Cases: Number Percent

Clackamas 2 (7)

Deschutes 1 (3)

Douglas 2 (7)

Lane 5 (17)

Marion 1 (3)

Multnomah 11 (37)

Washington 7 (23)

Yamhill 1 (3)
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