
ARE YOU ORDERING 

 A VITAL RECORD BY MAIL

?
No record will be provided unless you: 

Sign the form

AND 

Include a photocopy of your ID

See form for details. 

Thank you! 

Oregon Vital Records 



Oregon Birth Record Order Form
Full image (long form), 1903-2007

45-13A, long (04/21)

Center for Health Statistics Number of certified records requested 
$30 each certificate

1. Full name on record:
(first)	 (middle)	 (last)

2. Date of birth: 3. Sex: 4. Place of birth: OREGON	
(mm/dd/yyyy)	 (M or F)	 (city)	 (county)

5.  �Mother/Parent A’s legal name
at birth/prior to first marriage:

(first)	 (middle)	 (last name at mother’s/parent A’s birth)

6. �Father/Parent B’s legal name
at birth/prior to first marriage:

(first)	 (middle)	 (last name at father’s/parent B’s birth)

7. Your relationship to person named in line 1:

8. Reason for needing record:

9. Daytime telephone number: 10. Email:

11. Name of person ordering:

12. Your address:

13. City/State/ZIP:

14.c	Person ordering: Attach legible photocopy of current, valid ID or legal representative
document and representative’s ID. See back of form for alternative ID options.

15. Required signature of person ordering:
In accordance with law — ORS 432.380, only the person named on the record, immediate 
family members, legal representatives and government agencies are eligible to access birth 
records. For all others, access to birth records is restricted for 100 years. Legal guardians 
must enclose a copy of the legal document and representative’s ID. If you are not eligible, 
enclose a written permission note with a notarized signature of an eligible person. 

Send to: 
OREGON VITAL RECORDS 
PO BOX 14050 
PORTLAND OR 97293-0050

Make checks/money orders payable to:  
OHA/Vital Records 
PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH 
Checks/money orders in U. S. Dollars

QUANTITY

Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF) check 
processing policy: In the event that 
your check is returned unpaid for 
insufficient or uncollected funds, we 
may present your check electronically. 
In the ordinary course of business, 
your check will not be provided to you 
with your bank statement, but a copy 
can be retrieved by other means. A 
penalty, not to exceed $35, may be 
assessed for NSF checks per ORS 
30.701(5).
See second page of form for 
ordering options and processing times. 
Information is also available on our 
Web page at: www.healthoregon.org/
chs or by calling 971-673-1190.

WARNING: Providing false information is a felony under ORS 432.993.

$30 FOR THE FIRST RECORD; $30 FOR EACH ADDITIONAL COPY. The first $30 fee 
is non-refundable once the search for the record has been completed. Administrative Rule 
OAR 333-011-0340(1).

This form is available in alternative formats. See back for details.

ENTER YOUR MAILING ADDRESS 
THIS SECTION WILL BE DETACHED AND USED AS A MAILING LABEL

Name

Street

City State ZIP

OFFICE USE ONLY
DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE

Certificate number:

1 2
Film
Film (P)
Computer
Indexes
Index (P)
DF/CO

Refund: $

 Excess fee
 No record

 Out/state
 Uncompleted

Check #:

File date: Amendment fee:

NRL/Ref issued: Full issued:

Follow-up: Computer copy:

Drop Box Location: 
800 NE OREGON ST 
PORTLAND OR 97232



Alternative identification you can send with your mail or drop box order. 
If	you	don’t	have	a	valid	driver’s	license,	ID	card	or	passport,	send	photocopies	of	three	(3)	different	documents	
that	include	both	your	name	and	current	address.	Suggested	documents	are	listed	below.	If	you	are	mailing	your	
order	or using the drop box, make	photocopies	of	the	documents	and	include	them	with	your	order	form.	
Documents must be dated within the last 30 days and show applicant’s current mailing address.

Documents such as:
• Utility bill (for example, telephone, gas, electric, water, garbage removal) or other bill;
• Insurance statement, medical statement or paycheck stub,

must have current mailing address and can be no more than 30 days old.
Other documents such as:

• Court or parole documents;
• Valid work ID, unemployment statement, food stamp or other benefit cards (copy both sides);
• Permit for firearms, fishing, hunting or other license;
• Vehicle registration, title or insurance statement,

may be used. However, expired documents are unacceptable. For more information on acceptable 
documents, go to www.healthoregon.org/chs, click on “Information Needed to Order,” and scroll 
down to “Acceptable Proofs of Identity.”

If you have no ID or other documents, an immediate family member can provide ID and order the record. Records 
may also be released to a legal representative of a family member or sent directly to a government agency. 
How long does it take to receive a record ordered by mail? Processing times vary between three and five 
weeks, depending on seasonal workload. To ensure fast processing for mail orders, use a money order instead of a 
personal check. Payment by personal check may delay processing by three weeks if the check is on a new account, 
is a temporary check, does not include a printed name or address, or has a change to the printed name or address. 
If an amendment is being processed or the record is not on file, or ID or information is missing or in error, expect an 
additional delay of two to four weeks.
Order in person and receive the record within 30 minutes – 1 hour. Additional fees apply. Fees are not 
refundable after orders are submitted.

State Vital Records Office: 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 205, Portland, OR 97232-2187
Office Hours: 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.  
Orders must be submitted by 3:30 p.m. to receive the same day.

Ordering in person is limited to immediate family members of the person named on the record. Orders are placed 
at self-service kiosks. The identity of the applicant will be screened using Social Security number and date of birth. 
Additional fees apply. Persons ordering must show valid ID or provide alternative documents. In some cases, proof 
of relationship may be required if the person ordering does not share the last name of the person on the record 
and is not clearly a family member. Payment by credit or debit card, cash, money order or electronic funds transfer 
(EFT) of a personal check is accepted.
Order online: www.vitalchek.com at any time. Additional fees apply.
Order by telephone through VitalChek: 1-888-896-4988, 24 hours per day, 7 days per week, except for major 
holidays. Additional fees apply. Fees are not refundable. All major credit/debit cards accepted. Orders are processed 
through the VitalChek Network. Additional fees apply per order to cover vendor, security and expedite fees. Overnight 
shipping available for an additional fee that varies depending on the vendor and place of delivery. Records will be 
mailed/shipped within three working days of receipt unless a record problem is discovered. Shipments can be delayed 
for missing or incorrect information, or if records are still being registered or amended.

45-13A, long (04/21)

This document can be provided upon request in an alternate format for individuals with disabilities or in 
a language other than English for people with limited English skills. To request this publication in another 
format or language, contact 971-673-1190 (voice) or 711 (TTY), or fax 971-673-1203.
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