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Changes to Oregon Pain Education Requirements  

Q:  How are the requirements related to pain education for Oregon licensed providers changing? 

A:  The Oregon Legislature passed, and the Governor signed, House Bill 2078.   The bill changes the 

requirement from six hours of one-time pain management education training upon initial licensure to one 

hour of training completed at a frequency of at least once every 36 months, as determined by the 

practitioner’s licensing board. 

Q:  Which licensure types are affected by HB 2078? 

A:  ORS 413.590 lists the practitioners who either must complete a pain management education program 

described in ORS 413.572 (1)(c) or an equivalent pain management education program1 at initial 

licensure and every 36 months thereafter:   

1. Physician Assistant licensed under ORS chapter 677; 

2. Nurse licensed under ORS chapter 678; 

3. Psychologists licensed under ORS 675.010 to 675.150 

4. Chiropractic Physician licensed under ORS chapter 684; 

5. Naturopath licensed under ORS chapter 685 

6. Acupuncturist licensed under ORS 677.759 

7. Pharmacist licensed under ORS chapter 689; 

8. Dentist licensed under ORS chapter 679 

9. Occupational Therapist licensed under ORS 675.210 to 675.340; 

10. Physical Therapist licensed under ORS 688.010 to 688.201 

11. Optometric Physicians licensed under ORS 683 

The Oregon Medical Board, in consultation with the Oregon Pain Management Commission (OPMC), 

shall identify by rule physicians licensed under ORS chapter 677 who, on an ongoing basis, treat 

patients in chronic or terminal pain and who must complete a pain management education program 

described in ORS 413.572.  The board may identify by rule circumstances under which the 

requirement under this section may be waived.  

Q:  When does HB 2078 go into effect? 

A:  It will affect licenses issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2022. 

Q:  What is the reasoning behind requiring licensees to complete a pain management education 

program at least once every 36 months? 

A:  The intent is to ensure that licensed practitioners have up-to-date knowledge and the information 

needed to appropriately manage their patients’ pain.  

Because different licensing boards have different license renewal schedules, the language in HB 2078 

provides flexibility so that the required training hour is completed at least once every 36 months. For 

boards with 1- or 2-year renewal-cycles, the boards can elect to require the training more frequently, or to 

count completion of the training towards future renewals as long as the requirement has been met in the 

36 months prior to each renewal.  

Q:  Will the OPMC training continue to be updated biennially? 

 
1 as described in ORS 675.110, 677.228, 677.510, 678.101, 684.092, 685.102 or 689.285.  

https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2021R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2078/Enrolled
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A:  Yes, the OPMC is required to provide biennial updates to its continuing education content.  This may 

be done as an update to the current online continuing education module or via an alternative continuing 

education format.  OHA will advise each licensure board on the updates as they become available. A new 

version of the pain module was released 07/01/2021, so professionals who completed the previous 

module will see fresh content. 

Q:  Will the pain management education program produced by the OPMC continue to be free and 

offered online? 

A:  Yes, the online pain management module produced by OHA and the OPMC will continue to be offered 

free and online at https://www.oregon.gov/oha/HPA/dsi-pmc/Pages/module.aspx.  

Q:  Are there other courses licensees can take in pain management that meet the one-hour 

requirement, besides the free module offered by OHA and the Oregon Pain Management 

Commission? 

A:  Yes, this legislation allows for flexibility in course selection.  Licensees should refer to the specific 

stipulations set forth by their licensure board to make sure the courses they select for continuing 

education comply with the board’s requirements. 

Q: How can licensing boards obtain verification of which providers have completed the OPMC’s 

free online pain management module?  

A: OHA staff can provide a list of licensees who have completed the module to each board and 

commission at an interval that meets the needs of each board. To make arrangements, contact Mark 

Altenhofen, OPMC Coordinator at:  mark.g.altenhofen@dhsoha.state.or.us. 

Q:  Who can I contact if I have further questions regarding HB 2078? 

A:  Please contact Mark Altenhofen, OPMC Coordinator at:  mark.g.altenhofen@dhsoha.state.or.us 
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