Road User Fee Task Force

Overview of Statewide Revenue Options
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Reflections on Options

What excites you about this option?

What worries you about this option?

~ What additional information do you need about this option?



Tax Program Characteristics

* Fair - everyone pays a similar amount

* Adequate - provides enough net revenue to meet the needs of the programs it is
supporting, taking into consideration other ways in which the programs are supported

* Simple - easy to understand so people know what they owe, when payment is due,
and how it should be paid

* Transparent - easy to find who is being taxed, how much is paid, and what is done
with the money

* Easy to administer - rules are well-known, forms are not too complicated, the state
can tell if taxes are paid correctly and on time, audits can be done in a fair and
efficient manner, and not too costly to either taxpayers or tax collector
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Road Usage Charging

* An increasing number of states are exploring and implementing
programs in which drivers pay for miles driven.

* Oregon launched the nation’s first active RUC program - OReGO -
on July 1, 2015.

* At least 12 states considered RUC legislation in 2023; bills in
Hawaii, Michigan, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington became law.
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Road Usage Charging

* Hawaii passed RUC legislation in 2023; begins as voluntary for EV
drivers in July 2025 before becoming mandatory for EV drivers in
July 2028. Plan to transition all vehicles to RUC by 2033.

e Utah and Virginia also operate live RUC programs, though the
specific program designs differ between the three states.

* The IlJA included a provision for USDOT to design and conduct a
national per-mile RUC pilot program.

Oregon
Department
of Transportation



RUC
AcCross
the US

. Mandatory road charge program

Voluntary road charge program

. Commercial vehicle road charge only
. Road charge pilot

(0]

Image credit: California Road Charge . Exploring road charge



https://caroadcharge.com/partners/road-charge-across-the-u-s/

Road Usage Charging

Implementation Timeline

Collection Costs

Revenue Potential

Varies depending on policy
choices, including which vehicles
will be subject to RUC.

Applying RUC to new, highly
efficient vehicles could be
implemented in the near-term -
feasibly 2028. Additional vehicles
could be added over time as
eligibility expands.

Unknown currently, but higher
than fuels tax collections. Closer
to DMV vehicle fee and CCD
weight-mile collection costs. More
vehicles result in reduced costs as
percent of revenue.

ODOT will rebuild its RUC cost
model with the latest data and
assumptions to better estimate
costs.

Very good, but varies depending
on policy choices, including
whether RUC is a replacement for
or in addition to the fuels tax.

Comprehensive option that syncs
road use to road taxes. Could
ensure that revenues do not
decline below existing levels or
could raise significant revenue.

Oregon
Department
of Transportation




Supplemental Registration & Title Fees
for Efficient Vehicles

» 32 states impose supplemental reg. fees for battery EVs, and 19
Impose a fee on plug-in hybrid EVs; Oregon included.

 Fees range from low of $50 per year to high of $225; new high will
be $250 in NJ beginning July 2024.

* In some states, the revenue from supplemental reg. fees is
allocated specifically for EV infrastructure.
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Supplemental Registration & Title Fees
for Efficient Vehicles

* Oregon imposes annual fees of $115 for EVs and $35 for other
vehicles rated at 40+ MPG; also charges higher title fees for
hybrids and EVSs.

* Drivers can have their supplemental reg. fees waived by enrolling in
Oregon’s RUC program at point of sale/registration renewal.

* OTC’s Section 75 Study found that high-efficiency vehicles are
underpaying relative to low-efficiency vehicles.
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Supplemental Registration & Title Fees
for Efficient Vehicles

Implementation Timeline Collection Costs Revenue Potential
Short. If fees were increased by Low. DMV collection fees are Good. Increasing number of EV
the Legislature, DMV would need  higher than those to collect fuels  sales, per current policy, would
time to prepare before the tax, but systems and processes result in either supplemental
increase takes effect, but systems are already in place. registration and title fee payments
and processes are already in or RUC enrollments.
place.
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Indexing Taxes and Fees to Inflation

* Fuel tax revenues have been unable to keep up with rising costs of
operating and maintaining the transportation system.

* Prices (e.g. materials and equipment) and fuel efficiency are both
increasing rapidly.

» 24 states and D.C. use variable rate fuel taxes that adjust with
inflation or another index.

* Oregon’s fuel taxes are fixed and require legislative action to
iIncrease them.
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Variable
Rate
Gas

Variable Rate
Gas Taxes,
NATIONAL
CONFERENCE OF
STATE
LEGISLATURES
(Feb. 9,
2024),
www.ncsl.org/
transportation
/variable-rate-




Indexing Taxes and Fees to Inflation

Revenue Potential

Implementation Timeline Collection Costs
Short. Indexing Oregon's fuel No additional collection costs
taxes and registration fees to beyond existing fuels tax

inflation could be implemented in  collection costs.
a relatively short timeframe.

Good. If Oregon’s fuels tax were
indexed to the Consumer Price
Index, it would have produced an
additional $270 million in 2023.
Indexing all of the State Highway
Fund to inflation would produce
an additional $60 million each
year.
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A Tax on Electricity Used for Charging EVs at
Public Charging Stations

* EVs do not pay fuels tax, but several states have implemented a
per kilowatt-hour tax on public charging stations.

* These taxes are relatively new, sample sizes are small, and revenue
information is limited.

e Currently, they are not estimated to generate much revenue, but
that could change as the charging network is built out and EVs gain
an increasing share of the vehicle fleet.
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A Tax on Electricity Used for Charging EVs at
Public Charging Stations

Implementation Timeline Collection Costs Revenue Potential

Medium. Decisions would need to Medium. Revenue projections and Low in the near term; potentially
be made regarding which stations collections from other states have fair in the long term. Most
the tax applies to - e.g. stations been low, and collection costs charging at this stage of EV
opened after a certain year or all could be significant relative to adoption tends to take place at
stations. Also need to decide if it revenues. Would need to consider home, but public charging
applies to all levels of charging or  who is responsible for paying the  stations may be used more as
only the faster options - e.g. Level fee - EV owner, charging station infrastructure comes online and
1; Level 2; DC Fast Charging. owner/operator, or electric utility.  EV sales increase. Wisconsin
That policy choice will determine estimates annual revenue
how many agents need to collect  between $211,000 and $317,000
the tax on behalf of the state. in FY2b.
T)regon
Department
of Transportation




Retail Delivery Fees

* With prevalence of e-commerce, several states are exploring the
idea of implementing delivery fees on retail purchases to help fund
and maintain their transportation systems.

* Colorado has a fee in place since July 2022; Minnesota’s fee
begins in July 2024.

* Washington State is conducting study of a retail delivery fee; report
Is due June 2024.
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Retail Delivery Fees

Implementation Timeline Collection Costs Revenue Potential

Unknown. While distinct from their Low. Policy choices would need to  Fair. Policy choices would need to
sales and use tax, the states be made regarding who is be made regarding fee threshold
implementing retail delivery fees responsible for paying the fee - - e.g. all purchases vs. purchases
leverage their existing sales and the consumer or the over a certain amount. Revenue
use tax systems to implement the retailer/marketplace facilitator. would also largely depend on
delivery fee. Oregon does not have exemptions, including classes of
a sales/use tax, so initial items - e.g. groceries, clothing,
implementation would likely be baby products - and retailer
more challenging. characteristics - e.g. sales in
Oregon less than a specified
amount.
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Mileage-Based Fee for Medium-Duty Vehicles

* In Oregon, vehicles > 26,000 Ibs pay a weight-mile tax (WMT)
based on weight and distance traveled.

* The MDV fleet might electrify rapidly due to fuel cost savings and
localized/centralized operating areas.

* If light vehicles shift to a RUC, and heavy vehicles remain on WMT,
there’s a strong case for MDVs to also pay by the mile, likely based

on weight.
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Mileage-Based Fee for Medium-Duty Vehicles

Implementation Timeline Collection Costs Revenue Potential
Short to moderate. There is a Unknown currently, but higher Good to very good. ODOT has
relatively limited number of MDV  than fuels tax collections. Closer relatively limited data on mileage
compared to passenger vehicles to DMV vehicle fee and CCD driven by MDVs, but based on
in Oregon, so implementation weight-mile collection costs. recent trends in home delivery,
could be easier than for and assuming a per-mile rate
passenger vehicles. Compliance between the passenger vehicle
would be challenging, however, as RUC rate (2 cents) and the low-
ODOT sees a high rate of failure to end of weight-mile tax (7.64
comply with registration cents), there could be significant
requirements among MDVSs. revenue potential.
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Reflections on Options - Flipcharts

What excites you about this option?

What worries you about this option?

- What additional information do you need about this option?



Debrief

* What jumps out for you?
* Other considerations or thoughts?
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Prioritize Interest Level

* Each member has 5 dots
* Place dots on option(s) of highest interest
* All in or split them as desired
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Options Deeper Dive

* Refer to primers provided
* Will try to address post-its as we go
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Summary & Next Steps
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