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Hearing Timelines under IDEA 20041 
 

Preliminary Time Period 
Filing  Party (“requesting party”) files hearing request on other party and the Oregon 

Department of Education (ODE).  The request must include2: 
o The name of the child, child’s address (or contact information in the case of a 

homeless child) and name of school child attends; 
o A description of the nature of the problem of the child relating to a proposal or 

refusal to initiate or change the child’s identification, evaluation, or 
educational placement, or the provision of a free appropriate public education 
to the child, including facts relating to such problem; and 

o A proposed resolution of the problem to the extent known and available to 
the party at the time. 

 
Within 1-2 days ODE acknowledges receipt in writing to requesting and receiving parties, provides 

Notice of Procedural Safeguards, and refers to the Office of Administrative Hearings 
(OAH).   
 

Within a week OAH appoints an administrative law judge (ALJ) & sends confirmation to both parties, 
including preliminary timelines and sets date/time for pre-hearing conference, and, 
beginning September 1, 2007, hearing and final order dates. (see Hearing Time 
Period, next page). 
  

By day 10   
 

(a) If school district did not already send prior written notice to parent regarding the 
subject matter of the hearing request, the district must send parent a response 
that includes3: 
o An explanation of why the district proposed or refused the action raised in the 

hearing request; 
o A description of other options the IEP team considered and why rejected; 
o A description of each evaluation procedure, etc., used as basis for proposed 

or refused action; 
o A description of factors relevant to the district’s proposal or refusal. 

(b) Except as provided in (a), the receiving party shall send the requesting party a 
response that specifically addresses the issues raised in the complaint.4  This 
response is not a pleading, should not be sent to the ALJ, and is not a part of the 
hearing record unless entered as an exhibit by a party. 

 
By day 15 
(By day 7 if 
expedited 
hearing) 

Parties participate in resolution session unless parties agree in writing to waive 
resolution session or to participate in mediation in lieu of a resolution session5.   
 

                                            
1 Prepared by Oregon Department of Education in collaboration with the Oregon Office of Administrative Hearings.  Revised 
May 22, 2007. 
2 20 USC § 1415(b)(7)(A)(ii); 34 CFR 300.507; OAR 581-015-2345. 
3 20 USC § 1415(c)(2)(B)(i)(1); 34 CFR 300.508(e); OAR 581-015-2345(2). 
4 20 USC § 1415(c)(2); 34 CFR 300.508(f); OAR 581-015-2345(2)(b). 
5 20 USC § 1415(f)(1)(B); 34 CFR 300.510; OAR 581-015-2355. 



By day 15 
 

Deadline for receiving party to notify ALJ and requesting party if receiving party 
believes the due process hearing request is not sufficient.6  See “Filing”.   
 

NOTE:  ALJ has 5 days from receipt of this notice to determine the sufficiency of 
the hearing request and to inform the parties in writing.7 

 
Day 30  
(by day 15 if 
expedited 
hearing) 

If the district has not resolved the complaint to the satisfaction of the parents, the due 
process hearing time period begins.8   

Hearing Time Period 
Within 5-7 days  
(next day if 
expedited 
hearing) 
 

(a) The ALJ holds pre-hearing conference to: 
o Determine status of any resolution session, mediation, or settlement process; 
o If no resolution completed: 

o Identify issues to be resolved at hearing; 
o Determine whether expedited hearing timelines apply. 
o Resolve any discovery or other prehearing matters and, if 

appropriate, stipulations of fact; 
o Confirm the date(s) and expected length of hearing; 
o Determine a briefing schedule, if appropriate, and confirm final order 

date. 
o Determine whether the verbatim record of hearing will be written 

and/or electronic and, if written, make appropriate arrangements with 
the LEA to provide a court reporter; 

o Determine whether the hearing will be closed or open to the public; 
o Determine whether the final order will be written and/or an electronic 

recording; and 
o Review the parties’ rights and procedures for the hearing, and 

evidentiary requirements. 
(b) The ALJ issues Notice of Hearing and Hearing Rights. 

 
Day 6 – 45 Completion of pre-hearing matters, briefing schedule according to pre-hearing order, 

conduct of hearing, and issuance of final order.9 
 
EXCEPTION:  Expedited hearings must be conducted within 20 school days 
(from date of hearing request), and a final order issued within 10 school days 
after the hearing.10 
 
NOTE:  At least 5 business days before a hearing, each party must disclose to all 
other parties all evaluations completed by that date, and recommendations based on 
the offering party’s evaluations, that the party intends to use at the hearing.  An ALJ 
may bar any party that does not comply with this disclosure requirement from 
introducing the relevant evaluation or recommendation at the hearing without the 
consent of the other party.11 

                                            
6 20 USC § 1415(c)(2)(B)(i)(1); 34 CFR 300.507(d); OAR 581-015-2350. 
7 20 USC § 1415(c)(2)(D), 34 CFR 300.507(d); OAR 581-015-2350(2).  If insufficient, the party may amend its hearing request 
only with the other party’s consent (and new opportunity for resolution session or ALJ grants permission (but must be at least 
five days before hearing).  If so, the preliminary time period starts over again.  20 USC § 1415(c)(2)(E), 34 CFR 300.507(d)(4), 
OAR 581-015-2350(4). 
8 20 USC § 1415(f)(1)(B)(ii); 34 CFR 300.510(b); OAR 581-015-2355(2).  The 45 day timeline begins the day after one of the 
following events:  both parties agree in writing to waive the resolution session (and do not agree to try mediation); after either 
mediation or resolution meeting starts (within the 30 day period), the parties agree in writing that no agreement is possible; 
both parties agree in writing to continue the mediation at the end of the 30 day resolution period, but later one or both parties 
withdraw from mediation. 
934 CFR 300.515(a); OAR 581-015-2375.  An ALJ may grant specific extensions of time beyond this time period 
at the request of either party.    34 CFR 300.515(c), OAR 581-015-2375(2). 
10 20 USC § 1415(k)(4)(B); 34 CFR 300.532(c)(2); OAR 581-015-2445. 
11 20 USC § 1415(f)(2); 34 CFR 300.512; OAR 581-015-2360. 



 


