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Background 
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• Vehicles contribute air 
quality pollutant 
emissions – particulate 
matter, CO, NOx, and 
greenhouse gases



Oregon’s Strategy to Address GHG Emissions 
from Transportation 
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Governor’s Executive Order 20-04



Legal authority to adopt vehicle emission 
standards
• Section 177 of the Clean Air Act 

allows California to adopt their own 
motor vehicle emission standards 

• States can adopt California 
emission standards, but must do 
so identically 

• Provide two years’ advance notice 
before the start of the model year 

• Oregon has adopted California’s 
emission vehicle rules since 2005
– Emission standards in place through 

the 2025 model year
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Proposed Advanced Clean Cars (ACC) II Rule

• California’s ACC II Rule
– Continuation of LEV/ZEV 

rules for 2026-2035 model 
year

– 100% new vehicles (MY 2035) 
must be ZEV

– Compliance achieved through 
sales of battery electric and 
plug in hybrid electric vehicles
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Model Year ZEV Percentage 
Requirement

2026 35%
2027 43%
2028 51%
2029 59%
2030 68%
2031 76%
2032 82%
2033 88%
2034 94%
2035 100%



Anticipated benefits of the rule

NOx PM2.5 WTW CO2e
By 2030 922

US tons
30 
US tons

3.6 million metric tons

By 2035 3,693
US tons

149 
US tons

19.9 million metric tons

By 2040 7,695
US tons

372 
US tons

54.1 million metric tons
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• Estimated emissions benefits 

• Estimated health benefits would result in $8.7 million in savings 

Benefits calculations conducted by Sonoma Technology Inc (STI), with technical input on data and methods from the International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT) and NESCAUM



EV Market Availability
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Cost parity for electric vehicles
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EV Sales in Oregon
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Achieving the standard - compliance flexibilities

• Recognizing some manufacturers may need additional time to 
meet the proposed requirements and some states may not 
have the robust market development, the rule includes 
compliance flexibilities
– Historical Credits 

• Allow auto manufacturers to use banked credits already earned
– Pooled Credits

• Auto manufacturers can “pool” across states
– Early Action Credits

• Earn values for placing EVs in states prior to the 2026 requirements 
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Compliance flexibilities - Environmental Justice 
values

• Provide compliance values to 
manufacturers who help increase 
affordable access to ZEV 
vehicles for priority communities
– Discounted EVs in community-

based clean mobility programs
– Ensuring Used EVs available to 

participating dealerships
– Lower priced EVs
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Additional rule requirements
• EVs must have a minimum electric range

– BEVs – 150 miles
– PHEVs – 50 miles

• Durability – 80% of certified range value for 10 yr/150,000 mi
• Warranties – for parts and battery state of health (maintain 

70-80% of battery range for life of vehicle)
• Charging cord capability (Level 1 and 2 capable)
• Increased charger size capability (to allow for faster charging)
• Battery labeling

– Address battery recycling
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ACC II - Low Emission Vehicle rule changes

• Gasoline vehicles 
will continue to be 
part of the fleet 
beyond 2035

• Rule changes 
ensure 2026 – 2035 
MY vehicles are as 
clean as possible
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Next Steps

• Public stakeholder meetings – June & July 2022
• Advisory committee meetings – August & September 

2022
• Public comment  - September 2022
• EQC Action – November or December 2022
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Supporting the transition to EVs – Incentives
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Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program
• Rebate program to encourage Oregon 

residents to purchase or lease electric 
vehicles
 Up to $2,500 for purchase or lease of new 

EV
 $5,000 for low and moderate income 

households for used EV
 Up to $7,500 for low- and moderate-income 

households for new EV



Supporting the transition to EVs - Charging 
infrastructure
• NEVI funding

– $100 million to support public charging along alternative fuel 
corridors (ODOT)

• ODOT’s Transportation Electrification Infrastructure 
Needs Assessment (TEINA)

• Utility rebates to support home and business charging 
installations

• Building code requirements for new buildings to have EV 
charging capability
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