## **Governor's Council of Economic Advisors**

On December 12, 1980, Governor Vic Atiyeh issued Executive Order # EO-80-21, which created the Governor's Council of Economic Advisors. The Council answered a need not only to improve the advice concerning future economic activity of the State of Oregon, but also to improve fiscal planning and revenue forecasting.

The Governor appoints members of the Council for three-year terms, based on the appointees' knowledge and expertise in economic planning and forecasting. Given the unique nature of the Council, term limits have been relaxed in the past. The Council's representatives represent the interests of the academic community, business and industry, and financial institutions. All members serve at the pleasure of the Governor. The Governor may fill any vacancy for the balance of a vacant term. The Governor will designate a chairperson.

Council membership receives no pay and no reimbursement for travel or other expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties.

The Council meets at least quarterly at a time and place determined by the chairperson, and provides timely advice to policy makers before the public release of the quarterly Econometric Model, economic projections and forecasted future revenue collections.

The purpose of the Council is to review and discuss alternative national economic forecasts to help the state economist determine the national economic assumptions to be used in deriving the state economic forecast. They also review the preliminary state economic forecasts and discuss recent developments in the state economy and the expected impact on the short-term economic outlook of Oregon. The Council has also been called by the Governor to offer direct advice on pressing issues.

## **Current Members:**

Joseph Cortright (Chair)
Sarah Dammen
Tim Duy
Bonnie Gee Yosick
James Hendry
Jenny Liu
Maurice Rahming
Mark Rasmussen
Joe Reinhart
Lakeitha Ruffin
Aimee Sukol
Brooke Van Vleet
Michelle Weisenbach

## **Emeritus Members:**

William B. Conerly Jerry Johnson B. Starr McMullen Ham Nguyen Tom Potiowsky Randall Pozdena Hans Radtke Oran Teater