[EXHIBIT N

INMATES' RIGHTS
AND
BOARD OF PAROLE PROCEDURES
(0AR 255-30-013, 255-40-9035, 255-58-010, 255-60-0G@86, 255-8B@-012)

1. Law that Applies
You are scheduled for & hearing before the Oregon State Board of

Parole. Based on the hearing results, the Board will issue an
order-which will affect your release date from the institution.
You should note that parcle may be denied. The hearing will be

conducted as provided in Chapter 183 and Chapter 144 of the
Oregon Revised Statutes (as limited by ORS 183.315) and as
further provided in the administrative rules of the Oregon Board
of Parole, OAR Chapter 2565. These statutes and rules are
avalilable through the institution's legal library.

2. Right to An Attorney

Parties are not ordinarily and customarily represented by
attorneys. The Board of Parole will not be represented by an
attorney at the hearing, and you may represent yourself at the
hearing. If you chocse to represent yourself, but determine in
the course of the hearing that an attorney is necessary, you may
not request & rececs. The Board will not appeint or pay an
attorney for you. You may be accompanied by one revcon of your
choice to the hearing and that person can be an attorney.

3. Presiding O0fficer

Either the Full Board or s Panel of the Board (two members) will
hear your case. 0One of the members will serve as the presiding

officer and will rule on all matters that arise at the hearing.

The Board will render the final determination.

4. Hearing Procedure

A Board hearing is less formal than a court appearance. The
Board will review the documents in your parole packet, including-
the Presentence Report or a report of similar content; any
additional information provided by police, counsel, the wvictim,
or the district attorney, and any recent psychological/psychi-
atric evaluations. You have the right to examine these documents
before the hearing, subject to the exceptions listed in OAR
255-35-045., You have the right to present additicnal, relevant
information and you have the right to rebut information you
believe is inaccurate. You do not have the right to call
witnesses or to cross—-examine witnesses who have provided

information to the Board. 1In general, information which you wish
the Board to consider should be provided in writing prior to the
hearing. You, or your representative, may make an oral statement

to the Board.
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5. Notice and _Waiver

You should receive your parole packet and a notice of your
hearing at least 14 days before your hearing date. You should
bring your copy of the parole packet to your hearing. If you do
not receive these materials 14 days prior to your hearing, vyou
may waive the notice period.

5. Continuances 7
There are normally no continuances granted at the end of 2
hearing. You should be prepared to proceed at the time of the

hearing. However, if you can show that the record should remain
open for additional ewvidence, the presiding Board member may
consider that request.

7. Exceptions to Proposed Order

After the hearing you will be sent an order reflecting the
Board's decision in your case. This order will be captioned
"Board Action Form"”. This amounts to the final order of the Board
of Parole. If you disagree with the order, you may either seek
administrative review or appeal directly to the Oregon Court of
Appeals. Ordinarily, there will not be an opportunity after the
Board issues its order for you to appear before it to object to
the order or present additional arguments.

B. Record

A record will be made of the entire hearing to preserve the
testimony and other evidence for appeal. This will be do.- by
tape recorder. Ordinarily the record will not be transcribed
unless you appeal to the Court of Appeals. If you appeal, you
will not have to pay for the cost of transcribing the record,
unless the petition is frivolous. If you do not appeal, a copy
of the record will be made awvailable to you upon payment of the
cost of making it. The Board only maintains taped records for
two years. After two years the record is deleted.

9. Appeals and Administrative Reviews

If you wish to appeal the final order, you must file a Petition
for Review with the Oregon Court of Appeals within 68 days after’
the final order is served upon you. If you cannot afford a
lawyer to help you with an appeal, you may have the right to
appointed counsel. You should contact the Public Defender's
0ffice about having an attorney appointed for you. You also have
the right to an administrative review. The request for review
must be made within 45 days after the final action of the Board.
The administrative review procedure is allowed generally to
correct Board error or deal with new information that was not
available to the Board or the inmate at the time of the initial
prison term hearing.]
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EXHIBIT N

INMATES' RIGHTS
AND
BOARD OF PAROLE PROCEDURES

1. Law that Applies

You are scheduled for a hearing before the Oregon State Board of
Parole. Based on the hearing results, the Beoard will issue an
order which will affect your release date from the institution.
You should note that parole may be denied. The tearing will be
conducted as provided in Chapter 183 and Chapter 144 of the
Oregon Revised Statutes (as limited by ORS 183.315) and as
further provided in the administrative rules of the Oregon Beoard
of Parole, OAR Chapter 2535. These statutes and rules are
available through the institution's legal library.

2. Right to An Attorney

Parties are not ordinarily and customarily represented by
attorneys, The Board of Parole will not be represented by an
attorney at the hearing, and you may represent yourself at the
hearing. If you choose to represent yourself, but determine in
the course of the bearing that an attorney is necessary, you may
not request a recess. The Board will not appoint or pay an

atterney for vyou. You may be accompanied by one persen of your
choice to the hearing.

3. Presiding Officer

Either the Full Board or a Panel of the Board (two members) will
hear your case. One of the members will serve as the presiding

officer and will rule on all matters that arise at the hearing.

The Board will render the final determination.

4. Hearing Procedure

A Board hearing is less formal than a court appearance. The -
Board will review the documents in your parole packet, including
the Presentence Report or a report of similar content, including
any additional information provided by police, counsel, the
victim, or the district attorney, and any recent psychologi- _
cal/psychiatric evaluations. You have the right to examine these
documents before the hearing, subject to the exceptions listed in
OAR 235-33-045. You have the right to present additional,
relevant information and you have the right to rebut information
vyou believe is inaccurate. You do not have the right to call
witnesses or to cross—-examine witnesses who have provided
information teo the Board. In general, information which you wish
the Board to consider should be provided in writing prior to the

hearing. You, or vyour representative, may make an oral statement
to the Board.
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5. MNotice and MHajiver

You should receive your parole packet anmnd a notice of your
hearing at least 14 days before your hearing date. You should
bring your copy of the parole packet to your hearing. If you do
not receive these materials 14 days prior to your hearing, you
may waive the notice period,

6. Contipuances

There are normally no continuances granted at the end of a
hearing. You should be prepared to proceed at the time of the
hearing. However, if you can show that the record should remain
open for additional evidence, the presiding Board member may
consider that request.

7. Exceptions to Proposed Order

After the hearing, you will be sent an order reflecting the
Board's decision in your case. This order will be captioned
“"Board Action Form". This amounts to the final order of the Board
af Parole. I you disagree with the order, you may either seek
administrative review or appeal directly to the Oregon Court of
Appeals. Ordinarily, there will not be an opportunity after the
Board issues its order for you to appear before 1t to object to
the order or present additional arguments.

8. Record

A record will be made of the entire hearing to preserve the
testimony and other evidence for appeal. This will be done by
tape recorder. Ordinarily the recerd will not be transcribed
unless you appeal to the Court of Appeals. If you appeal, you
will not have to pay for the cost of transcribing the record,
unless the petition is frivolous. If you do not appeal, a copy
of the record will be made available tc you upon payment of the
cost of making it, The Board only maintains taped records for
two years., After two years the record is deleted.

9. Appeals and Administrative Reviews

IT you wish to appeal the final order, you must file a Petition
for Review with the Oregon Court of Appeals within 60 days after
the final order is served upon you. If you cannot afford a
lawyer to help you with an appeal, you may have the right to
appointed counsel. You should contact the Public Defender's
Office about having an attorney appointed for you. You also have
the right to an administrative review. The request for review
must be made within 45 days after the final action of the Board.
The administrative review procedure is allowed generally to
correct Board error or deal with new information that was not
available to the Board or the inmate at the time of the initial
prison term hearing.
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EXHIBIT N

BOARD REVIEW PACKET

Board Review Packet may include one or more of the following:

1.
2!‘
3.
4.
5.

6.
7.
8.
9,
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16,
17.
18.

Face Sheet -
BAFs « back to prison term set hearing

.Field Parole Analysis Report (PAR)

Presentence Investigation (PSI)

Psychological Evaluations - two meost recent reports (see provisions
of OAR 255-15-010 and 255-30-045)

Statements of Imprisonment (time served credits and/or parole violation)
Court Orders

Revocation Recommendation

Final Order of Revocation

Administrative Action Sheet

Morrissey Hearing Findings

Disciplinary Report - only with extension recommendatioh
Recommendatieon for Parole Violation Goodtime Restoration
Recommendation for Date Cut

Administrative Review Request Form and Documents

Rebuttal Imformation from Victim and/or District Attorney

Personal Statements from the Victim, District Attorney, Inmate

Any other information used by the Board in establishing an inmate's
prison term.

Temporary effective 1/12/87 to 7/11/87



