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Aerial Pesticide Applicator Licensing Guide 
 

Oregon law now includes additional requirements to obtain and maintain an Aerial Pesticide 

Applicator’s license. 

 
 

Obtaining Your License 
 

To obtain an Aerial Applicator license you must: 

1. Be actively licensed as a Commercial, Public or Private Pesticide Applicator in 

Oregon. 

2. Take and pass an Oregon Aerial Applicator’s exam, or equivalent exam. 

 Information about study material can be found here. 

3. Have 50 or more hours of documented experience as a licensed Commercial 

Pesticide Applicator, licensed Public Applicator, or certified Private Applicator; or flight  

training experience as a licensed Commercial Pesticide Applicator, licensed Public 

Applicator, certified Private Applicator, Immediately Supervised Trainee, or Pesticide 

Apprentice under the supervision of a certified Aerial Pesticide Applicator; on flights 

conducted for the purpose of carrying out, or training to carry out, spraying or otherwise 

applying pesticides by aircraft; 

4. Attest on the application that you hold a FAA medical certificate that is valid for the 

entire Oregon license period (through December 31); 

 Small Unmanned Aerial System (sUAS) Applicators are exempt. 

5. Provide a valid: 

 Commercial Pilot’s Certificate issued by the FAA under Part 61 (front and back 

required) and/or; 

 A Remote Pilot Certificate with a small UAS rating under Part 107 (front and 
back required) 

 
It is requested that you also provide a current Agricultural Aircraft Operator’s Certificate (Part  

137) for the aircraft (including UAS’s) being used.  

 
Note: You will be sent an application for the Aerial Applicator license once you complete steps 1 

and 2 above. Please submit copies of supporting documentation to the address or secure fax 

listed on the application. 

 
 

Maintaining your License 
 

The certification cycle for your existing Commercial, Public or Private Applicator’s license will be 

aligned with the certification cycle of your Aerial Pesticide Applicator’s license. This will allow 

you the full 5-year cycle to complete the other major requirement of the new law, which is the 

requirement that you must earn 10 ODA-approved credits in programs of instruction or 

educational courses related to the application of pesticides by aircraft. If you do not earn 10 

credit hours within your certification period, you must retake the aerial exam. 

https://www.oregon.gov/ODA/programs/Pesticides/Licensing/Pages/TakingPesticideExams.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/ODA/programs/Pesticides/Licensing/Pages/ExamsStudyMaterials.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/ODA/programs/Pesticides/Licensing/Documents/Aerial/AerialTrainingExperience.pdf


 

The aerial-specific required recertification hours for the following license types are:  

 Commercial/Public Applicators (total of 40 credits). The 10 aerial-specific credits 

hours are part of the required 40 hours of recertification needed to maintain an 

applicator license. A maximum of 15 credits, including aerial -specific credits, can be 

accumulated per year. 

o If during your recertification cycle, you earn your 10 hours of aerial -specific 

training, but do not also earn at least an additional 30 credit hours, you will need 

to retest and pass any exams that you need as part of your Commercial or Public 

Applicator’s license. You will not be issued an Aerial Applicator’s license without 

a valid Commercial or Public Applicator’s license. 

 
 Private Pesticide Applicators (total of 26 credits). The 10 aerial-specific hours are in 

addition to the required 16 credit hours needed to maintain a Private license. A 

maximum of 8 credits per year can be accumulated, excluding aerial-specific credits (i.e. 

you are able to earn more than 8 aerial specific credits in one year). 

o If during your recertification cycle, you earn 10 hours of aerial-specific credits, but 

do not also earn the required 16 hours of credits, you will need to retest and pass 

the Private Applicator’s exam. You will not be issued an Aerial Applicator’s 

license without a valid Private Applicator’s license. 

 

 

Where can I get more Information? 
 

For additional information contact the Pesticides Program, Oregon Department of Agriculture, 

at (503) 986-4635. 


	Obtaining Your License
	Maintaining your License
	Where can I get more Information?

