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Oregon workers’ compensation premium rates1 are 
ranked the 10th lowest in the nation, down four places 
from the previous study in 2020. Oregon fell in the 
ranking despite having a lower premium index rate, 
because rates in other states dropped more.

The national median index rate is $1.27 per $100 of 
payroll. This is its lowest value since the inception of 
the study in 1986, after peaking in 1994.

Oregon’s index rate is $0.93 per $100 of payroll, down 
from $1.00 in 2020. This is 73 percent of the national 
median, its second-lowest recorded level. It was 149 
percent of the national median at its highest in 1990.

Since the first study, the range of index rates has 
narrowed considerably to $1.86 per $100 of payroll, 
from a high of $2.44 per $100 of payroll in New Jersey 
to a low of $0.58 per $100 of payroll in North Dakota. 
However, the number of states within 10 percent of the 
study median dropped from 21 in 2016, to 14 in 2020 
and 2022.

Highlights

1 Comparable workers’ compensation premium rates across the nation are 
based on a methodology first established in the 1986 study to account for 
the differences in the mix of industries and markets.
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basis. Appendix 1 lists the industry classes, payroll, and 
loss information used in this study. 

Not all jurisdictions use the NCCI industry classification 
system. In these cases, analogous classes were 
selected from within those systems to enable 
comparisons to the states served by NCCI. 

Pure premium is the amount necessary to pay benefits 
for claims, excluding any other costs incurred by 
the insurer. The ratemaking organization for each 
jurisdiction develops pure premium rates for each 
industry class based on aggregate loss information 
submitted by insurers. NCCI is the ratemaking 
organization for 35 states and the District of Columbia, 
and provides advisory ratemaking services to Indiana 
and North Carolina (see Appendix 2). This study 
compares the manual rates (i.e., rates for expected 
claim costs plus factors for insurer administrative 
expenses and profits). 

Some jurisdictions provide pure premium rates by 
industry class. These are multiplied by expense load 
factors, also called loss cost multipliers, to account 
for the insurer’s expenses, taxes, and profits to create 
a manual rate. Typically, expense load factors are 
reported by insurers to their regulatory jurisdictions. 
For Oregon, the average expense load factor for each 
of the top 30 private insurers and the SAIF Corporation 
was 1.453. This figure represents a 4.0 percent increase 
from 2020. Table 1 shows expense load factors by state. 
Between 2020 and 2022, 12 jurisdictions reported load 
factor increases, and 21 reported decreases.

In jurisdictions with competitive rating laws, each 
carrier determines its own load factor. Pure premium, 
increased by the expense load factor, equals the 
manual rate. These rates are generally expressed in 
terms of dollars per $100 of payroll. However, other 
factors, such as premium discounts for quantity 
purchases, experience modification factors, premium 
reductions on policies carrying deductible features, 
retrospective rating plans, and dividends all affect 
the rate an employer pays. Because comparable data 
across states do not exist, not all of these factors can 
be accounted for in this study. 

Jan. 1, 2022
Introduction
Beginning in 1986, the State of Oregon has analyzed 
workers’ compensation premium rates in all U.S. states 
and the District of Columbia using a methodology that 
controls for interjurisdictional differences in industry 
compositions. The study compares premium rates for 
the same set of industry classes across all jurisdictions, 
after weighting by the industry payroll in Oregon, 
to determine a normalized premium index rate that 
reflects the differences in premiums. The index rates 
are not, strictly speaking, the premium rates paid by 
employers in that jurisdiction; instead, they represent 
the degree to which the premium rates differ from 
one another within the group. This edition of the study 
analyzes premium rates effective through Jan. 1, 2022.

There are many reasons why premium rates vary 
among jurisdictions: Insurers’ administrative costs 
are constrained by regional market forces; taxes and 
assessments are imposed at different rates and use 
different bases; and accidents and illnesses occur at 
varying rates as natural and random processes. This 
study attempts to measure the degree of this variation 
with a consistent and objective statistic: the premium 
index rate.

Methodology
The 440 active National Council on Compensation 
Insurance (NCCI) industry class codes in Oregon were 
ranked on the basis of their share of losses — that is, 
benefits paid for injuries sustained by workers in that 
industry. As in prior studies, the top 50 of these served 
as the industry mix for this year’s study.

The top 50 Oregon classes include one NCCI code, 
9079 – Restaurant NOC, that is not generally used by 
other states. To provide the most representative set of 
classes, code 9079 has been replaced with the codes 
9058, 9082, 9083, and 9084. Therefore, the study uses 
53 NCCI class codes that comprise 70 percent of 2016 
to 2018 Oregon payroll and 63 percent of 2016 to 2018 
Oregon losses, as reported by NCCI on a policy-year 

Oregon Workers’ Compensation 
Premium Rate Ranking
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adjustment programs: Alaska, Connecticut, Delaware, 
Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, 
Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New 
Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, 
Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Wisconsin. To compensate 
for these programs, each state’s contracting classes 
were divided by a state-specific, contracting class 
premium adjustment average-discount offset provided 
by NCCI or the state itself. 

A residual market adjustment was made by subtracting 
the jurisdiction’s voluntary-market expense load factor 
from its residual market derived rate factor, provided 
by NCCI for 29 jurisdictions (see Appendix 3). For 
jurisdictions that do not employ a residual market 
expense load factor, the study’s median expense load 
factor was used. This number was multiplied by the 
state’s residual market share and subtracted from one 
to derive the residual market adjustment. If the state’s 
residual market share was not available, an estimate 
of residual market share (countrywide, provided by 
NCCI) was used. This residual market adjustment was 
multiplied by the state’s index rate to calculate the final 
index rate. 

Jurisdictions differ substantially in how they set and 
apply their manual rates. Monopolistic jurisdictions 
have a single, state-operated workers’ compensation 
insurance system and set their own manual rates. (See 
Appendix 2.) Jurisdictions that allow private insurers to 
compete for business either contract NCCI to prepare 
their manual rates or use their own rating bureau. 
On top of the variation in rating organizations, many 
jurisdictions allow insurers to set their own expense 
load factors.

Pure premium rates in effect on Jan 1, 2022, for each of 
the 53 industry classes were obtained from the NCCI 
All States Basic Manual for Workers’ Compensation and 
Employers’ Liability Insurance or from the jurisdictions 
themselves. Manual rates were calculated by applying 
the premium-weighted loss cost multipliers and other 
necessary adjustments. If a jurisdiction did not have 
rates for all 53 study classes, its average rate was 
adjusted by the ratio of Oregon’s average rate for the 
53 classes to Oregon’s average rate for the limited 
classification set. Manual rates were multiplied by 
Oregon payroll to find the payroll weighted class 
premium. The ratio of the sum of payroll-weighted class 
premium to Oregon payroll by class, divided by $100, 
equals the index rate used for ranking, expressed in 
terms of dollars per $100 of payroll.

Twenty states have contracting class premium 

Figure 1. Premium rates on the decline
Index rates, 1994-2022
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Table 1. Load factors used for competitive jurisdictions
State 2020 Load Factor 2022 Load Factor % change 2020-2022

Alabama 44.4% 44.9% 0.38%
Alaska 57.6% 62.4% 3.03%
Arizona Average manual rates used Average manual rates used NA

Arkansas 41.0% 43.3% 1.68%
California Average manual rates used Average manual rates used NA
Colorado 46.7% 32.1% -9.97%

Connecticut 47.2% 43.6% -2.45%
Delaware 40.4% 36.6% -2.68%

District of Columbia 41.1% 49.2% 5.73%
Georgia 40.0% 64.2% 17.26%
Hawaii 68.0% 72.2% 2.51%
Illinois NCCI advisory rates used NCCI advisory rates used NA
Indiana NCCI advisory rates used NCCI advisory rates used NA
Kansas 56.5% 43.2% -8.49%

Kentucky 55.6% 51.4% -2.72%
Louisiana 60.2% 80.2% 12.50%

Maine 41.9% 46.0% 2.89%
Maryland 48.2% 70.2% 14.81%
Michigan Average manual rates used Average manual rates used NA

Minnesota 87.0% 83.0% -2.14%
Mississippi 1 36.6% 36.5% -0.07%
Missouri 2 46.4% 52.6% 4.24%
Montana 39.5% 51.7% 8.78%
Nebraska 52.2% 49.6% -1.70%
Nevada 32.6% 35.9% 2.49%

New Hampshire NCCI advisory rates used NCCI advisory rates used NA
New Mexico 49.6% 44.9% -3.14%

New York 23.8% 24.0% 0.16%
North Carolina 43.5% 45.2% 1.18%

Oklahoma 53.1% 57.5% 2.87%
Oregon 42.3% 45.3% 2.13%

Pennsylvania 75.3% 60.6% -8.36%
Rhode Island 48.8% 55.8% 4.69%

South Carolina 38.2% 45.0% 4.93%
South Dakota 70.5% 65.4% -2.95%

Tennessee 41.0% 58.0% 12.06%
Texas 113.5% 110.1% -1.59%
Utah 42.5% 71.4% 20.27%

Vermont 50.3% 55.8% 3.64%
Virginia 37.3% 48.0% 7.79%

West Virginia 39.6% 33.2% -4.62%

Source: Information Technology and Research Section, Central Services Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (October 2022)
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In 2022, Oregon’s premium index rate is $0.93 per $100 
of payroll. Premium index rates ranged from $0.58 in 
North Dakota to $2.44 in New Jersey. Because there 
are 51 jurisdictions, the median index rate is that of the 
jurisdiction ranked 26th. The median index rate has 
ranged from a high of $4.35 per $100 of payroll in 1994 
to the current low of $1.27 per $100 of payroll in 2022 
(see Figure 3). 

Likewise, the percent of median (i.e., each jurisdiction’s 
index rate divided by the median index rate), gives a 
measure of the variability among the jurisdictions. In 
2022, this ranged from a low of 45 percent for North 
Dakota to a high of 192 percent for New Jersey (see 
Table 2).

Oregon’s index rate is 73 percent of the national median 
in 2022 (see Figure 4). Oregon’s index rate peaked at 
149 percent of the median in 1990 and was lowest in 
2018 at 68 percent of the median.

Because the surveyed classes and payroll weights 
change over time, the index rates themselves are 
not strictly comparable across studies. A change in 

Findings
Ranking by the premium index rate shows that Oregon 
employers in the voluntary market pay the 10th-lowest 
workers’ compensation premium rates in the nation. 
Changes in the ranking over time indicate that a 
jurisdiction’s premiums are rising or falling relative to 
the group. Oregon’s rank among the 51 jurisdictions fell 
four places despite its premium index rate falling to a 
record low (See Table 2). 

Due to regulatory reforms enacted in 1987, 1990, and 
1995, and to workplace safety initiatives, Oregon 
experienced dramatic premium rate decreases during 
the 1990s, a period when most of the country was also 
experiencing rapid decreases in premium rates (see 
Figure 1). Rates decreased each year between 1991 and 
1998. Collectively, these changes contributed to Oregon 
reducing its premium rate between 1990 and 1998 from 
eighth highest in the nation to 38th highest. Figure 2 
shows Oregon’s rate rankings over the past 36 years. 
Oregon has experienced increases in premium rates on 
four occasions since the study began: in 2000, 2008, 
2012, and 2020. 

Figure 2. Oregon's rate ranking among 51 jurisdictions, 
1986-2022
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Table 2. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking
2022 Rank 2020 Rank State Index Rate Percent of Study Median Effective Date

1 1 New Jersey 2.44 192% January 1, 2022

2 5 Hawaii 2.27 178% January 1, 2021

3 4 California 2.26 178% September 1, 2021

4 2 New York 2.15 169% October 1, 2021

5 8 Louisiana 2.13 167% May 1, 2021

6 3 Vermont 1.98 156% April 1, 2021

7 26 Wyoming 1.86 146% January 1, 2022

8 11 Wisconsin 1.67 132% October 1, 2021

9 16 Maine 1.67 131% April 1, 2021

10 6 Connecticut 1.64 129% January 1, 2022

11 9 Rhode Island 1.62 128% August 1, 2021

12 17 Minnesota 1.55 122% January 1, 2022

13 14 Missouri 1.54 121% January 1, 2022

14 21 Iowa 1.52 120% January 1, 2022

15 12 Montana 1.46 115% July 1, 2021

16 19 Idaho 1.43 112% January 1, 2022

17 13 Oklahoma 1.41 111% January 1, 2022

18 28 New Hampshire 1.39 109% January 1, 2022

19 24 Illinois 1.39 109% January 1, 2022

20 30 Alabama 1.38 108% March 1, 2021

21 10 Alaska 1.37 107% January 1, 2022

22 19 South Carolina 1.35 106% April 1, 2021

23 7 Delaware 1.34 106% December 1, 2021

24 22 Washington 1.31 103% January 1, 2022

25 23 South Dakota 1.30 102% July 1, 2021

26 20 Pennsylvania 1.27 100% April 1, 2021

27 29 New Mexico 1.27 99% January 1, 2022

28 27 Florida 1.26 99% January 1, 2022

29 26 Nebraska 1.25 98% February 1, 2021

30 31 North Carolina 1.16 91% April 2, 2021

31 15 Georgia 1.15 90% March 1, 2021

32 35 Massachusetts 1.05 83% July 1, 2020

33 37 Maryland 1.04 81% January 1, 2022

34 41 Tennessee 1.03 81% March 1, 2021

35 39 Kansas 1.02 80% January 1, 2022

36 32 Virginia 1.01 79% April 1, 2021

37 42 Nevada 1.00 79% March 1, 2021

38 37 Michigan 1.00 78% January 1, 2021

39 34 Mississippi 0.98 77% March 1, 2021

40 44 District of Columbia 0.95 75% January 1, 2021

41 33 Colorado 0.93 73% January 1, 2022

42 45 Oregon 0.93 73% January 1, 2022

43 46 Texas 0.88 69% July 1, 2021

44 43 Arizona 0.87 69% January 1, 2022

46 38 Kentucky 0.86 67% January 1, 2022

47 40 Ohio 0.83 66% July 1, 2021

48 49 Indiana 0.77 60% January 1, 2022

45 47 Utah 0.86 68% January 1, 2022

49 50 Arkansas 0.65 51% July 1, 2021

50 48 West Virginia 0.63 50% January 1, 2021

51 51 North Dakota 0.58 45% July 1, 2021
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(Figure 4). The BLS study is a quarterly survey of 
employers that collects, among other things, the cost of 
workers’ compensation insurance and total payroll. 

Oregon’s index rates from all studies as a percent of 
the median are shown in Figure 5. While Oregon’s 
ranking dropped from sixth in the initial study in 1986 
to eighth in 1988 and 1990, the index rate for Oregon 
increased as a percentage of the median, peaking at 49 
percent above the median in 1990.This shows that as 
premiums were decreasing in Oregon, they were falling 
faster in the nation as a whole. Oregon’s post-1990 
rate reductions occurred while rates were increasing 
nationally. 

a jurisdiction’s index rate from one study to the next 
is less meaningful than the change in its placement 
relative to other states. In order to evaluate changes 
in index rates over time, the median index rate for 
each study is used. A jurisdiction’s index rate as a 
percentage of the median is an indicator of its relative 
cost. These are shown in the fifth column of Table 2.

Figure 3 shows the median index rate over the history 
of the study. After climbing in the late 1980s and early 
1990s, the median has generally been on a downward 
trend. This trend is also apparent in an independent 
data series on national workers’ compensation costs 
published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)2 
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Figure 6. Range of Index Values and Median, 1988-2022
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Notes about using the rankings
Users of this premium rate ranking study should be 
aware of some of the issues in comparing premium 
rates among states. There are factors that cannot be 
measured in each state that contribute to overall rate 
level and individual class rates. These factors vary by 
state. Here are some issues that the users of this report 
should consider:

1.	 The actual average premium rate for a jurisdiction 
will differ from the weighted premium rate index, 
which is based on the characteristics of Oregon’s 
economy.

2.	 If different classes had been selected, or payroll 
from a state other than Oregon had been used 
to weight the rates by class, the results may be 
different.

3.	 Some states use classification systems other 
than NCCI’s. Rates for analogous classes were 
used based partly on the recommendations of 
respondents in those states. The jurisdictions 
without NCCI industry rate data are: California, 
Delaware, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, 
North Dakota, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, 
Pennsylvania, Texas, Washington, Wisconsin, and 
Wyoming.

4.	 Sixteen states have unique classes within 
the NCCI system3, or do not have rates for all 
classes. The data were adjusted to account for 
the classes without rates. When a state had 
more than one substitute class included in a 
single NCCI class, the rates were apportioned by 
class using available data, otherwise they were 
averaged. No state had more than two missing 
classes. States with missing classes are: Alaska, 
Arizona, California, Delaware, Hawaii, Louisiana, 
Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New York, Oklahoma, 
Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah and 
Virginia.

5.	 The premium rate listed for a class will often 
differ from the rate that an individual employer 
would pay. Premium rates for an employer are 
adjusted based on the factors including the 

Comparing states’ rate trends
The premium rate ranking study was first 
done in 1986 and was intended to inform 
Oregon policymakers of how Oregon’s rates 
ranked nationally on a timely, comprehensive, 
and comparable basis. In recent studies, the 
rankings have been closely watched by other 
states interested in how their rates compare 
nationally. Since the start of this series of 
studies, trends in workers’ compensation 
systems and insurance markets have resulted in 
declining differences in states’ rates. A narrower 
rate distribution (decreasing difference between 
maximum and minimum values) makes rank 
values more volatile from one study to the next, 
making the numerical ranking less meaningful. 

The narrowing of the distribution can be seen 
in Figure 6. The range between the highest and 
lowest index rates has narrowed by more than 
65 percent since the second study. In 2022, 14 
states were within 10 percent of the median. A 
record number of jurisdictions (20) were below 
90 percent of the median.

2 U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics “Employer Costs for Employee Compensation (ECEC)” http://www.bls.gov/news.release/pdf/ecec.pdf.

http://www.bls.gov/news.release/pdf/ecec.pdf
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exclusions on premium rates. Additionally, states 
differ in their treatment of overtime hours. This 
study does not account for these differences.

11.	 In some states, assessments and taxes are 
included in the rates to fund state workers’ 
compensation agencies or special funds. For 
states in which some employer assessment 
liability exists outside workers’ compensation 
manual rates, assessments are factored into the 
rates for the purposes of this study, if possible.  
 
Assessments and taxes are factored into 
the rates for the following states: Alaska, 
Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, 
District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, 
Illinois, Kansas,  Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, 
Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, 
Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North 
Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode 
Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, 
and West Virginia.

12.	 The jurisdictions vary in the way they regulate 
self-insurance. Because self-insurers do not 
pay premiums and do not report their costs for 
administering their coverage, the effects of self-
insurance programs are very difficult to ascertain. 
Therefore, this study does not attempt to account 
for self-insurance.

13.	 Jurisdictions differ in the way they operate their 
state funds. In North Dakota and Wyoming, 
workers’ compensation insurance is administered 
exclusively through a monopoly state fund. 
Ohio and Washington allow self-insurance in 
addition to workers’ compensation insurance to 
be provided either by the state fund. Competitive 
state fund states allow employers to choose 
among the state fund, private insurers, or self-
insurance. 

14.	 Data used for calculating the rate index for 
California, Connecticut, Delaware, Indiana, 
Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New 
Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin 
were gathered from independent rating bureaus 
and similar contacts rather than state regulatory 
officials. 

employer’s experience rating, premium discounts, 
premium reductions associated with deductibles, 
retrospective rating, insurer deviations, and 
schedule rating plans.

6. 	 Employers in Oregon and many other states have 
the option to purchase large deductible policies 
that may contain expenses, or to pay a part of 
some claims’ medical costs (in Oregon, the first 
$2,4004 of costs in 2022) to improve experience 
ratings. These cost-saving measures are not 
reflected in the rate indices used in this study, 
as the full effects of losses are reported and 
reflected in class rates during the ratemaking 
process.

7.	 In the competitive rating states, individual 
insurers may apply different expense load factors 
(loss cost multipliers) to the pure premium rate. 
This results in a range of premium rates that are 
available to an employer.

8.	 The premium rates are not adjusted for insurer 
dividends paid to employers. 

9.	 With the exception of Washington state, the study 
is based on payroll rates. For Washington, hourly 
rates must be converted to payroll rates. The 
Washington payroll data includes overtime pay 
that may overstate the average wage for purposes 
of premium computation, thus understating the 
effective average payroll rate.

10. The payroll basis may differ by state. 

	� In Nevada and North Dakota, the workers’ 
compensation premium is capped on a payroll 
per employee, per year basis. Salary in excess 
of the cap is exempt. To compare Nevada’s and 
North Dakota’s index rate with those of other 
states lacking a payroll cap, their rates are 
adjusted according to the proportion of payroll in 
each classification that is subject to a premium 
computation during the previous fiscal year. 

	� Payroll base exclusions (e.g., exclusion of vacation 
pay) exist in Oregon and South Dakota. Manual 
rates in these states have been reduced to reflect 
NCCI’s estimate of the effect of these payroll 

3 As discussed in the methodology section, the classification set used in this study was expanded from 50 to 53 classes to provide classes that were most 
commonly used nationally. 
4 This value will change annually with medical price inflation. For 2006, this value was set at $1,500. Refer to WCD Bulletin 345, 
 http://wcd.oregon.gov/Bulletins/bul_345.pdf.

http://wcd.oregon.gov/Bulletins/bul_345.pdf
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Appendix 1. Occupational classes used for 2022 premium rate ranking
Rank Class code Scope of basic manual classifications 2016 - 2018 Oregon payroll 2016 - 2018 Oregon losses

6 8810 Clerical Office Employees NOC  $51,424,936,887  $25,327,695 

5 8868 College: Professional Employees & Clerical  $15,316,862,615  $28,863,501 

18 8742 Salespersons or Collectors-Outside  $12,841,088,121  $15,372,980 

23 8832 Physician & Clerical  $9,910,745,977  $14,218,047 

14 8833 Hospital: Professional Employees  $5,344,606,265  $17,584,855 

33 9082 Restaurant NOC  $3,964,794,251  $11,219,218 

20 8017 Store: Retail NOC  $3,230,270,682  $15,022,345 

4 8380 Automobile Service or Repair Center & Drivers  $2,641,917,640  $30,143,007 

34 9083 Restaurant: Fast Food  $2,638,470,418  $11,219,218 

11 8864 Social Services Organization--All Employees & Drivers NOC  $2,027,385,704  $21,175,940 

1 7219 Trucking: NOC-All Employees & Drivers  $1,923,335,030  $64,328,324 

9 8824 Retirement Living Centers: Health Care Employees  $1,711,900,167  $21,554,105 

22 5190 Electrical Wiring-Within Buildings & Drivers  $1,470,324,106  $14,389,289 

13 7720 Police Officers & Drivers  $1,307,935,420  $17,639,438 

26 8033 Store: Meat, Grocery and Provision Stores Combined-Retail NOC  $1,212,131,320  $13,445,198 

24 9052 Hotel: All Other Employees & Salespersons, Drivers  $1,194,879,963  $14,025,790 

12 8018 Store: Wholesale NOC  $1,109,823,010  $17,675,986 

8 7380 Drivers, Chauffeurs, Messengers and their Helpers NOC-Commercial  $1,093,058,737  $22,274,827 

16 6504 Food Products Mfg. NOC  $1,065,938,515  $15,929,604 

19 9015 Buildings - Operation by Owner or Lessee & Drivers  $1,032,723,532  $15,277,459 

45 8826 Retirement Living Centers: All Other Employees, Salespersons & Drivers  $1,025,899,996  $7,350,046 

41 5183 Plumbing NOC & Drivers  $1,022,329,458  $8,657,725 

46 8006 Gasoline Station: Self-Service and Convenience/Grocery-Retail  $956,702,658  $7,296,287 

25 9101 College: All Other Employees  $899,406,170  $13,944,156 

7 5403 Carpentry NOC  $890,265,209  $22,976,249 

40 8835 Home, Public, and Traveling Healthcare--All Employees  $802,649,576  $8,669,576 

29 5537 Air Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Systems-Installation, Service and Repair & Drivers  $785,072,003  $11,788,128 

30 5 Farm: Nursery Employees & Drivers  $744,288,423  $11,333,849 

28 9014 Chimney Cleaning - Residential & Drivers  $731,573,721  $11,801,554 

48 8046 Store: Automobile Parts & Accessories- NOC & Drivers  $691,475,204  $7,188,552 

21 8232 Lumberyard-New or Used Materials-All Other Employees and Yard, Warehouse, Drivers  $678,251,910  $14,973,416 

17 37 Farm: Field Crops & Drivers  $651,833,492  $15,606,597 

27 7710 Firefighters & Drivers  $585,451,959  $11,875,188 

47 3724 Machinery or Equipment Erection or Repair NOC & Drivers  $568,547,611  $7,288,698 

31 6217 Excavation & Drivers  $562,918,118  $11,302,147 

39 9102 Park NOC-All Employees & Drivers  $546,409,515  $8,762,746 

42 7403 Aviation: All Other Employees & Drivers  $529,665,381  $8,643,404 

15 5474 Painting NOC & Shop Operations, Drivers  $521,449,862  $16,163,558 

3 5645 Carpentry - Dwellings Not Exceeding Three Stories in Height  $500,555,513  $30,936,612 

37 7600 Telecommunications Co. - Cable TV or Satellite - All Other Employees & Drivers  $490,304,044  $9,873,205 

49 3507 Construction or Agricultural Machinery Mfg  $483,265,610  $7,074,951 

32 9058 Hotel - Restaurant Employees  $473,093,972  $11,219,218 

38 5213 Concrete Construction NOC  $438,934,450  $9,749,893 

53 2915 Veneer Products Mfg  $410,185,974  $6,858,628 

43 5437 Carpentry-Installation of Cabinet Work or Interior Trim  $370,275,678  $8,345,707 

36 9403 Garbage, Ashes or Refuse Collection & Drivers  $367,565,095  $10,054,906 

10 5551 Roofing-All Kinds & Drivers  $355,993,026  $21,300,493 

2 2702 Logging Operations - Nonmechanized Equipment Operations & Drivers  $341,095,931  $36,012,966 

50 5506 Street or Road Construction: Paving or Repaving & Drivers  $321,237,686  $7,041,151 

52 2731 Planing or Molding Mill  $272,403,286  $6,869,834 

51 5445 Wallboard, Installation - Within Buildings & Drivers  $245,168,535  $6,950,958 

35 9084 Bar, Discotheque, Lounge, Nightclub or Tavern  $187,404,395  $11,219,218 

44 106 Tree Pruning, Spraying, Repairing -- All Operations & Drivers  $153,921,540  $8,070,901 
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Appendix 2. Jurisdictions by workers’ compensation rating organization
NCCI rating/advisory organization Independent rating bureau Monopolistic state funds

Alabama1 Mississippi1 California1 North Dakota
Alaska1 Missouri1 Delaware1 Ohio
Arizona Montana1 Indiana1 Washington
Arkansas1 Nebraska1 Massachusetts Wyoming
Colorado1 Nevada1 Michigan1

Connecticut1 New Hampshire1 Minnesota1

District of Columbia1 New Mexico1 New Jersey 
Florida Oklahoma1 New York1

Georgia1 Oregon1 North Carolina1

Hawaii1 Rhode Island1 Pennsylvania1

Idaho South Carolina1 Wisconsin
Illinois1 South Dakota1

Iowa Texas1

Kansas1 Tennessee1

Kentucky1 Utah1

Louisiana1 Vermont1

Maine1 Virginia1

Maryland1 West Virginia1

 
1 States with Competitive Rating Laws and effective dates:  Arkansas (6/17/81), Oregon (7/1/82), Kentucky (7/15/82), Illinois (8/18/82), Rhode Island (9/1/82), 
Michigan (1/1/83), Georgia (1/1/84), Minnesota (1/1/84), Vermont (7/1/84), New Mexico (10/1/87), Maryland (1/1/88), Louisiana (9/1/88), Indiana (9/1/89), 
Connecticut (10/1/89), Hawaii (6/25/90), South Carolina (7/1/90), District of Columbia (1/1/91), Colorado (3/1/91), Alabama (11/1/91), Texas (3/1/92),  Utah (5/20/92), 
Maine (1/1/93), South Dakota (7/1/93), Nebraska (9/1/93), Pennsylvania (12/1/93), Kansas (1/1/94), Missouri (1/1/94), New Hampshire (1/1/94), Oklahoma (1/1/94), 
Virginia (1/1/94), Delaware (8/1/94), California (1/1/95), North Carolina (7/28/95), Montana (10/1/95), Mississippi (1/1/96), Tennessee (1/1/97), Alaska (1/1/98), 
Nevada (7/1/99), West Virginia (7/1/06), New York (1/1/2008)

Source: NCCI Annual Statistical Bulletin, 2022 Edition
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Appendix 3. 2021 assigned risk pool size, by state, for coverages in pools managed by NCCI
State ARP as a percent of direct premiums written 2021 Number of ARP risks 

Alabama 2.6% 1,711
Alaska 13.7% 6,426
Arizona 4.5% 4,981
Arkansas 8.6% 6,163
Connecticut 4.7% 12,539
Delaware 5.8% 1,654
District of Columbia 2.4% 802
Georgia 8.8% 22,267
Idaho 1.6% 3,136
Illinois 3.5% 27,827
Indiana 4.5% 9,015
Iowa 3.8% 3,894
Kansas 5.5% 5,712
Massachusetts 17.5% N/A
Michigan 5.5% N/A
Mississippi 3.6% 2,079
Nevada 5.2% 3,958
New Hampshire 6.6% 3,878
New Jersey 5.7% 56,758
New Mexico 2.0% 743
North Carolina 5.7% 25,571
Oregon 3.8% 6,158
South Carolina 5.9% 12,231
South Dakota 3.3% 964
Tennessee 7.1% 10,457
Vermont 8.5% 2,888
Virginia 5.4% 14,622
West Virginia 5.9% 1,921
Wisconsin 4.2% N/A

Partial National Average = 5.4% 9,552
 
N/A=Not available

Source: Residual Market Management Summary 2021, NCCI, 2022.  This report is now published online.
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Appendix 4. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking by class
Class 5 

Farm: Nursery
Class 16 

Farm: Orchard
Class 37 

Farm: Field Crops
Class 106 

Farm: Tree Pruning
Class 2702 

Logging Nonmech

1 NJ 5.67 ID 5.39 MT 8.95 OH 13.48 LA 4.90 

2 CA 5.50 WI 4.18 RI 16.24 NJ 28.24 TN 3.09 

3 HI 7.04 VT 6.91 CA 13.36 ME 20.29 WI 4.56 

4 VT 4.94 RI 6.36 ME 18.26 RI 29.74 RI 5.54 

5 DE 3.32 OK 5.51 VT 14.24 DE 20.66 VT 7.47 

6 RI 5.00 LA 6.20 LA 15.03 NV 21.16 KY 2.51 

7 AK 3.28 FL 5.25 DE 12.61 VT 31.80 CT 5.14 

8 WI 4.53 MO 4.61 CT 10.58 LA 69.09 DE 5.10 

9 FL 4.31 MT 0.00 AK 9.48 GA 22.80 AK 4.42 

10 CT 3.59 HI 5.75 MN 10.17 NC 20.61 HI 7.80 

11 WA 4.18 CT 5.08 GA 15.81 WA 10.97 NJ 7.94 

12 MN 4.08 CA 6.61 FL 9.01 IL 29.46 MO 4.87 

13 ID 3.92 NH 5.06 ID 10.36 HI 35.92 CA 5.93 

14 MO 4.11 NJ 3.72 SC 13.09 PA 18.48 MD 3.34 

15 NE 3.54 AZ 4.81 OK 7.07 AZ 12.23 IL 4.70 

16 IL 3.77 ME 7.58 NH 9.43 AK 28.04 PA 4.25 

17 GA 4.11 SD 3.47 AZ 9.51 SC 13.85 MS 3.28 

18 SC 3.91 NC 3.47 PA 10.58 CT 26.30 WV 1.61 

19 LA 3.82 IL 4.09 CO 6.38 CA 20.35 IA 4.70 

20 OH 2.41 AL 4.48 HI 15.17 NE 18.89 OH 1.63 

21 IA 3.77 NE 4.35 AL 13.08 AL 13.53 GA 4.21 

22 MT 3.59 SC 4.80 NM 8.80 SD 16.63 NC 3.77 

23 PA 2.80 GA 5.49 WA 11.31 MT 17.24 KS 3.83 

24 OK 3.29 VA 3.66 MO 9.58 MO 23.99 NE 4.52 

25 ME 4.09 AK 4.17 KS 7.26 NY 12.98 VA 3.85 

26 MI 3.31 IA 4.00 VA 8.08 MA 11.94 OK 4.44 

27 NM 3.33 MN 4.81 OR 6.29 FL 7.55 NH 3.94 

28 NH 3.53 AR 2.27 WI 8.54 WI 82.00 MT 6.51 

29 NV 3.17 MS 3.06 NJ 19.64 IA 23.81 SC 4.43 

30 CO 2.40 NM 4.04 IL 11.44 VA 18.32 ID 5.51 

31 NC 2.99 KS 4.03 IA 10.15 NM 17.66 NM 4.33 

32 SD 3.29 MD 3.47 NC 15.40 MS 10.58 SD 3.36 

33 VA 2.46 CO 3.96 NY 7.87 OK 15.15 ME 5.29 

34 NY 2.35 TX 2.90 MD 8.93 MD 23.14 NY 5.53 

35 WY 3.88 NV 2.80 NE 10.39 ID 16.77 OR 2.43 

36 AZ 2.59 DC 3.25 SD 8.74 MN 13.62 UT 2.62 

37 OR 1.66 TN 2.62 MS 7.73 OR 10.62 NV 2.59 

38 AL 3.35 KY 2.06 DC 6.58 NH 18.37 DC 2.77 

39 KS 2.64 WA 4.31 UT 7.81 CO 12.18 MN 4.79 

40 DC 2.42 OR 2.57 WY 4.85 KS 16.57 CO 3.20 

41 MD 2.11 DE 4.24 TX 4.24 KY 24.54 MA 2.86 

42 KY 1.81 MA 2.46 ND 4.00 MI 11.48 IN 2.52 

43 MS 2.42 IN 2.59 KY 5.71 DC 15.08 AR 1.86 

44 UT 2.57 UT 3.42 MI 6.51 UT 15.65 AZ 2.97 

45 TX 2.21 WV 2.22 NV 14.47 TN 59.11 WA 5.17 

46 MA 2.23 OH 1.20 IN 5.19 WV 18.22 AL 3.68 

47 IN 2.17 WY 5.03 TN 7.21 AR 13.20 TX 2.46 

48 TN 2.28 PA 4.07 MA 9.48 IN 14.98 MI 3.92 

49 AR 1.83 ND 3.50 WV 4.29 TX 9.06 FL 4.21 

50 WV 1.44 NY 0.00 AR 5.37 ND 7.07 WY 7.43 

51 ND 1.11 MI 2.23 OH 13.20 WY 3.48 ND 1.13 
 
Note:  The rates listed for each state are calculated manual rates and may include loss cost multipliers and assessments. Where states appear to have the same rate for a class, the ranking 
may be done based on the values prior to rounding to two decimal places, unlike Table 1 which show ties as equal rank. If the states have exactly the same calculated manual rate, they are 
ranked alphabetically. N/A = Not Applicable.

Source: Information Technology and Research Section, Central Services Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (October 2022)
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Appendix 4. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking by class, cont.
Class 2710 
Saw Mill

Class 2802 
Carpentry/Shop only

Class 3507 
Construction/Agric Mrg

Class 3632 
Machine Shop

Class 3724 
Machine/Equip Repair

1 MO 4.78 NY 4.82 RI 4.19 DE 3.83 CT 3.54 

2 MI 2.46 CT 4.49 CT 5.57 NY 8.92 NJ 4.98 

3 IL 4.18 CA 5.08 DE 3.72 VT 4.93 NY 6.55 

4 NE 3.33 MT 3.25 CA 4.82 NJ 6.07 HI 3.97 

5 VT 5.15 MS 1.77 NY 5.99 MN 3.71 MN 3.92 

6 HI 5.96 NJ 4.11 NJ 6.56 MO 3.65 MA 2.24 

7 MT 3.92 DE 3.36 VT 4.94 CT 4.47 VT 3.50 

8 CT 4.36 MO 3.79 MN 6.26 AK 3.71 WY 2.01 

9 AZ 2.17 OK 2.84 HI 6.57 ME 4.84 DE 3.00 

10 RI 4.75 LA 3.48 IA 4.66 HI 4.51 WI 3.39 

11 AK 3.09 VT 4.08 ME 3.73 IL 4.06 IA 2.57 

12 NJ 7.51 HI 4.74 MO 4.65 LA 2.91 IL 3.74 

13 LA 3.43 FL 2.93 MT 4.21 CA 4.22 RI 2.83 

14 VA 2.07 RI 3.85 IL 4.92 FL 3.70 SC 3.94 

15 WI 4.18 WA 2.87 WI 5.17 WA 3.28 CA 2.86 

16 MN 3.92 ID 2.84 CO 2.03 ID 3.88 MO 3.28 

17 CO 2.64 AK 2.58 KS 2.42 GA 3.71 MD 2.99 

18 OK 3.53 KS 3.05 WA 3.91 IA 2.97 LA 3.60 

19 FL 2.70 CO 2.60 NE 3.67 OK 3.49 MT 3.12 

20 KS 3.16 ME 4.59 ID 3.70 NE 3.26 NE 2.70 

21 DE 4.32 IL 3.25 OK 3.43 SC 3.54 WA 2.18 

22 ID 3.37 WI 3.58 AK 3.16 MT 4.04 PA 2.97 

23 IA 3.76 NE 2.64 VA 3.00 RI 3.91 ID 3.09 

24 ME 4.42 AL 2.75 SC 4.21 WI 3.39 SD 3.24 

25 MS 3.15 GA 2.62 LA 4.49 KS 2.34 NH 3.46 

26 TN 2.26 SD 2.60 NM 3.72 PA 3.86 VA 2.01 

27 NM 3.20 IA 3.43 FL 3.35 SD 3.84 MI 1.96 

28 SD 2.91 SC 2.88 AL 3.16 MI 3.06 GA 3.25 

29 GA 3.59 NH 2.67 ND 1.90 VA 2.56 OK 3.18 

30 SC 4.22 PA 2.22 PA 3.33 TN 1.78 OH 1.96 

31 NY 4.36 NC 1.94 GA 3.51 NC 3.30 ME 3.24 

32 NC 2.92 MN 3.94 SD 3.29 AL 2.96 NC 3.14 

33 WY 7.43 MD 2.14 NH 3.77 CO 2.65 NM 3.17 

34 CA 6.18 AZ 1.86 MA 5.02 MS 2.33 AK 2.81 

35 KY 2.14 NV 2.41 MD 3.24 NM 3.46 KY 2.12 

36 NH 3.05 NM 3.13 NV 2.51 TX 2.29 FL 4.13 

37 AL 3.85 OR 1.48 TX 2.73 MD 3.34 MS 2.55 

38 MD 2.77 TX 2.04 OR 1.59 OR 1.19 AL 3.56 

39 PA 3.44 MA 2.55 NC 3.30 KY 1.78 DC 2.13 

40 MA 3.12 KY 1.57 DC 2.89 NH 3.62 WV 1.30 

41 WA 5.11 MI 1.70 OH 2.63 NV 2.78 TX 2.50 

42 NV 2.35 VA 2.41 AZ 2.92 WV 1.17 TN 2.52 

43 DC 2.24 DC 1.85 UT 2.50 DC 2.25 AZ 2.61 

44 ND 1.13 WY 1.78 MS 2.61 ND 1.41 KS 1.95 

45 IN 2.39 TN 1.65 MI 3.16 AR 1.45 AR 1.33 

46 UT 1.93 UT 1.87 WV 2.21 OH 1.80 NV 1.90 

47 WV 1.54 IN 1.54 KY 2.74 AZ 2.69 CO 1.85 

48 AR 1.36 AR 1.39 TN 2.71 MA 3.08 OR 1.16 

49 TX 2.77 OH 1.54 IN 2.30 WY 3.48 UT 1.82 

50 OR 1.89 WV 1.41 AR 2.38 UT 2.00 IN 1.37 

51 OH 0.72 ND 3.13 WY 2.40 IN 1.37 ND 1.35 
 
Note:  The rates listed for each state are calculated manual rates and may include loss cost multipliers and assessments. Where states appear to have the same rate for a class, the ranking 
may be done based on the values prior to rounding to two decimal places, unlike Table 1 which show ties as equal rank. If the states have exactly the same calculated manual rate, they are 
ranked alphabetically. N/A = Not Applicable.

Source: Information Technology and Research Section, Central Services Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (October 2022)
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Appendix 4. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking by class, cont.
Class 5183 

Plumbing NOC
Class 5190 

Electrical Wiring
Class 5213 

Concrete Construct
Class 5403 

Carpentry NOC
Class 5445 

Wallboard Install

1 NY 27.86 NY 18.60 NY 9.50 NY 12.47 GA 12.23 

2 CT 10.26 SC 6.08 MA 4.19 NJ 8.83 VT 8.36 

3 NJ 12.59 NJ 17.09 NJ 11.44 CT 6.55 NY 13.20 

4 VT 9.44 FL 6.17 VT 7.55 VT 11.00 ME 7.55 

5 ME 7.27 DE 5.35 CT 7.86 WA 7.19 NC 6.91 

6 DE 5.17 VT 9.04 PA 7.06 LA 9.84 NJ 12.59 

7 AK 7.36 PA 6.28 GA 8.98 IA 5.61 NH 7.28 

8 RI 6.26 LA 8.82 FL 6.23 MT 7.04 LA 6.92 

9 SD 5.87 WI 8.67 RI 8.14 ID 7.87 WA 5.48 

10 PA 8.29 IL 7.85 IL 9.75 RI 7.86 DE 7.08 

11 CA 5.71 NC 5.81 AK 6.16 MN 6.42 SC 8.43 

12 GA 7.26 OK 6.16 NH 6.79 WI 5.63 PA 8.35 

13 ID 7.14 CT 10.09 NE 4.91 IL 5.84 RI 8.10 

14 HI 7.41 MT 7.22 LA 9.60 SD 5.66 CT 7.97 

15 OK 6.27 GA 6.21 IA 5.71 CA 4.84 ID 8.85 

16 NE 6.54 RI 6.63 NC 5.48 MA 6.11 AL 5.55 

17 MN 7.63 ID 8.63 WI 10.03 NH 10.13 MT 8.23 

18 NV 4.76 SD 6.93 MN 11.75 MI 4.28 NE 6.08 

19 WA 5.51 MO 6.67 ID 6.58 GA 16.58 OK 6.27 

20 WI 7.69 NH 8.45 MD 5.50 FL 5.52 MD 4.16 

21 MT 6.50 MN 9.11 MO 5.96 AZ 3.36 SD 5.15 

22 VA 4.70 HI 7.99 DE 5.00 PA 6.94 MS 4.33 

23 SC 5.22 ME 8.09 DC 5.45 SC 7.70 OR 3.62 

24 FL 8.20 CA 8.46 ME 6.61 DE 6.08 IA 6.62 

25 IL 9.47 NM 5.85 MT 6.91 OK 5.60 MN 7.87 

26 MO 6.91 NE 5.72 OK 6.37 AK 5.33 MA 4.05 

27 NM 4.95 AK 5.70 SD 5.71 ME 10.51 FL 7.14 

28 NC 6.25 AL 5.61 WA 4.67 MO 5.09 KS 4.03 

29 NH 8.45 TX 4.39 HI 6.03 NE 5.76 WI 7.66 

30 MI 3.80 MD 5.62 VA 5.46 HI 6.04 NM 5.38 

31 MD 6.11 AZ 6.38 AL 6.14 KY 4.40 MO 6.70 

32 WY 3.48 MS 4.46 MI 5.66 MS 5.28 AK 5.90 

33 LA 7.89 IA 9.12 NV 4.80 NM 5.62 VA 4.67 

34 CO 3.43 VA 4.89 AZ 4.05 NC 8.48 IL 5.97 

35 MA 11.37 DC 4.88 MS 6.14 VA 5.12 HI 7.48 

36 AL 6.51 KY 5.26 CA 5.62 AL 8.30 CO 4.60 

37 DC 5.88 WA 9.32 SC 8.26 DC 4.45 KY 4.00 

38 AZ 4.16 MA 8.48 TN 3.93 NV 4.16 ND 2.54 

39 TX 3.30 CO 4.20 NM 5.93 MD 6.19 TN 4.42 

40 IA 7.30 TN 4.67 CO 4.74 KS 5.79 CA 7.98 

41 MS 4.96 MI 6.80 KY 3.87 CO 3.88 MI 5.12 

42 KY 4.21 OH 2.68 KS 4.55 TX 3.55 DC 3.52 

43 KS 4.15 KS 4.66 OR 2.50 TN 4.92 UT 4.37 

44 OH 2.99 OR 3.14 UT 4.39 OR 3.42 TX 2.96 

45 OR 2.70 UT 5.17 TX 3.55 UT 4.65 NV 4.57 

46 UT 4.04 NV 3.59 OH 3.32 ND 3.61 WV 3.10 

47 TN 5.16 WV 2.46 AR 3.26 WV 3.08 AZ 4.87 

48 ND 1.93 IN 2.78 ND 3.73 AR 2.76 OH 3.93 

49 WV 3.05 AR 3.43 WV 2.74 OH 3.22 AR 2.81 

50 AR 2.92 ND 2.69 IN 2.83 WY 3.48 WY 3.48 

51 IN 2.90 WY 3.48 WY 3.48 IN 2.64 IN 2.60 
 
Note:  The rates listed for each state are calculated manual rates and may include loss cost multipliers and assessments. Where states appear to have the same rate for a class, the ranking 
may be done based on the values prior to rounding to two decimal places, unlike Table 1 which show ties as equal rank. If the states have exactly the same calculated manual rate, they are 
ranked alphabetically. N/A = Not Applicable.

Source: Information Technology and Research Section, Central Services Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (October 2022)
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Appendix 4. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking by class, cont.
Class 5474 

Painting NOC
Class 5506

Street/Road Construct
Class 5537 

Air Cond/Heating/Refrig
Class 5551 

Roofing-All kinds
Class 5645 

Carpentry-Dwellings Low

1 NY 17.62 NY 8.16 NY 24.55 GA 43.42 GA 5.02 

2 GA 7.53 DE 4.29 LA 23.06 MT 9.85 SC 5.22 

3 NJ 8.03 VT 5.85 MT 26.81 NJ 17.09 CT 4.82 

4 DE 8.99 CT 5.14 VT 21.25 SC 21.48 NC 4.72 

5 PA 6.17 SC 5.11 NJ 26.50 MN 11.44 NJ 7.58 

6 VT 9.31 RI 4.88 SC 25.68 CT 17.17 IL 5.40 

7 MT 6.31 LA 6.08 DE 18.43 DE 9.06 FL 5.21 

8 RI 8.55 NJ 6.56 RI 17.39 VT 11.50 AL 4.65 

9 CT 9.47 OK 4.40 CT 21.18 LA 17.76 WI 4.79 

10 WI 5.52 GA 5.03 NE 11.05 AK 9.78 ID 5.21 

11 SC 7.48 PA 3.91 ID 17.25 WI 13.07 LA 6.76 

12 ID 5.69 NE 4.54 NC 16.40 MI 10.27 NM 3.97 

13 FL 5.07 IA 4.31 IL 14.50 RI 9.03 OK 5.49 

14 MN 6.89 HI 4.17 MO 17.67 NC 16.73 MO 4.05 

15 NC 6.27 DC 2.55 GA 34.85 NY 11.47 VA 3.55 

16 LA 9.26 NC 4.49 OK 16.76 PA 9.50 VT 7.88 

17 AK 0.00 IL 5.19 FL 11.41 AL 14.07 NY 8.03 

18 NH 5.84 MN 4.79 ME 14.10 MO 12.48 MI 4.15 

19 CA 5.30 FL 4.63 AK 14.62 SD 10.29 SD 4.75 

20 ME 6.73 WV 2.04 NH 15.24 HI 10.60 TN 3.61 

21 MO 6.37 VA 2.97 SD 15.30 KY 9.81 DE 4.75 

22 OK 6.79 NM 4.56 MN 32.12 OK 13.80 MT 4.65 

23 HI 8.59 MT 5.02 NM 14.08 ID 12.93 PA 3.86 

24 NE 7.24 MO 4.74 AL 17.63 WA 8.20 AK 4.60 

25 IA 7.20 ME 5.14 CA 14.45 NM 12.78 AZ 2.34 

26 CO 4.20 WI 4.39 PA 16.54 IA 9.65 KY 4.45 

27 MI 2.87 MS 3.22 IA 15.07 VA 9.73 KS 2.85 

28 VA 5.74 ID 4.62 WA 13.97 NH 9.54 OR 2.08 

29 SD 5.63 NV 3.63 VA 14.87 CA 8.46 MN 5.65 

30 NM 5.76 SD 3.97 WI 21.28 FL 12.61 WA 4.81 

31 WA 3.55 NH 5.10 NV 6.43 ME 10.58 RI 4.83 

32 IL 7.59 CA 4.22 MA 10.91 TN 12.84 NE 5.55 

33 MS 4.81 AL 4.88 MS 10.47 IL 19.23 MS 3.37 

34 OR 2.55 MA 4.24 AZ 7.43 MS 9.19 CO 3.21 

35 AZ 3.83 MD 3.22 MD 10.57 UT 9.89 ME 8.12 

36 KY 4.61 TX 2.56 HI 19.03 NE 9.15 IA 4.69 

37 AL 6.00 KY 2.82 MI 21.41 MA 6.93 NH 5.62 

38 MD 5.07 CO 2.88 KS 11.54 CO 7.40 UT 2.98 

39 KS 4.06 AK 3.98 CO 9.34 KS 10.53 HI 4.37 

40 MA 4.73 TN 2.59 WY 3.48 MD 7.23 CA 4.65 

41 OH 2.85 AZ 3.41 KY 12.03 DC 7.06 NV 3.64 

42 UT 0.00 OR 1.75 DC 8.65 OR 6.70 MD 3.55 

43 NV 5.65 KS 2.73 TX 8.74 AR 6.33 DC 4.28 

44 TN 4.69 WA 3.72 OR 6.64 WV 5.72 MA 4.32 

45 DC 5.43 OH 2.12 OH 8.97 OH 4.59 WV 2.00 

46 WV 6.04 MI 3.25 TN 13.53 TX 4.39 AR 2.88 

47 TX 4.29 IN 2.25 UT 9.68 AZ 10.17 OH 2.83 

48 AR 2.94 AR 2.14 WV 7.35 ND 3.51 IN 1.96 

49 IN 3.92 ND 1.59 AR 8.28 NV 7.89 ND 1.46 

50 WY 2.01 WY 3.48 IN 5.79 IN 5.56 TX 3.80 

51 ND 2.81 UT 2.71 ND 6.35 WY 4.31 WY 3.48 
 
Note:  The rates listed for each state are calculated manual rates and may include loss cost multipliers and assessments. Where states appear to have the same rate for a class, the ranking 
may be done based on the values prior to rounding to two decimal places, unlike Table 1 which show ties as equal rank. If the states have exactly the same calculated manual rate, they are 
ranked alphabetically. N/A = Not Applicable.

Source: Information Technology and Research Section, Central Services Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (October 2022)
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Appendix 4. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking by class, cont.
Class 6217 

Excavation&Drivers
Class 6504

Food Products Mfg
Class 7219 

Trucking: All
Class 7380 

Drivers, Chauffeurs
Class 7403 

Aviation: All Other

1 NY 5.67 CA 8.20 NJ 13.96 NJ 5.66 IL 7.95 

2 VT 4.20 NY 13.72 NY 11.45 NY 7.94 HI 6.60 

3 NE 3.04 DE 7.72 VT 8.86 CT 4.24 NY 10.74 

4 ME 4.54 NJ 15.11 HI 8.56 VT 6.22 RI 6.07 

5 NJ 5.44 WA 8.73 DE 0.00 RI 6.77 VT 8.63 

6 LA 3.69 RI 9.62 WA 4.57 CA 6.88 NJ 8.85 

7 CT 3.77 VT 12.16 CT 9.03 LA 4.33 WI 7.02 

8 MN 3.75 ME 10.48 LA 8.11 IL 6.68 CA 11.60 

9 DE 3.72 PA 6.88 ME 6.74 HI 8.70 CO 2.43 

10 NC 2.75 NM 6.69 RI 7.66 MN 5.28 MO 4.97 

11 AL 3.00 KS 5.50 MO 6.89 MO 5.76 NC 5.24 

12 FL 3.09 CT 9.09 AK 4.43 MA 3.96 CT 6.98 

13 GA 3.32 MN 8.38 OK 4.96 OK 2.21 MN 6.18 

14 SC 2.78 AK 7.32 NC 5.41 WI 7.57 WY 1.53 

15 KY 1.70 HI 14.05 MN 7.30 MD 4.02 SC 5.25 

16 NH 2.42 IL 8.41 IL 7.98 ME 4.74 MA 3.46 

17 WA 3.68 WY 6.25 MA 5.79 SC 5.11 MD 3.42 

18 WI 2.72 MO 9.23 CA 7.98 MT 3.52 NM 4.64 

19 AK 2.91 LA 10.05 OH 4.49 NE 3.60 FL 4.48 

20 SD 2.86 MT 7.36 SC 6.32 WY 2.48 IA 3.81 

21 VA 2.03 ID 6.77 MT 5.27 NH 4.14 UT 2.69 

22 OK 0.00 SD 7.40 PA 0.00 GA 3.46 LA 6.63 

23 MI 1.73 NE 7.42 SD 4.15 AK 0.00 SD 3.04 

24 IL 4.05 SC 8.56 NE 5.42 OH 2.42 ME 6.15 

25 IA 2.91 FL 6.25 MD 6.02 FL 3.76 NH 4.46 

26 ID 3.81 GA 7.30 WI 6.22 NC 5.06 PA 2.68 

27 PA 3.42 WI 7.60 IA 5.14 WA 2.89 AZ 2.39 

28 MO 3.30 IA 7.44 ID 4.19 NM 4.12 NE 4.06 

29 MT 3.53 MA 8.25 GA 5.57 CO 3.91 MT 3.17 

30 RI 4.03 TX 6.41 NH 5.67 VA 3.34 DC 4.07 

31 CA 7.83 AL 7.93 DC 3.86 IA 4.36 VA 2.68 

32 NM 4.22 NC 8.60 NM 4.74 AL 2.38 ID 3.69 

33 DC 2.28 CO 5.08 AL 5.06 MI 2.86 GA 3.96 

34 MD 2.01 AZ 4.71 FL 5.15 KS 2.79 TN 4.21 

35 MA 2.56 NH 7.52 CO 3.95 ID 3.50 TX 2.35 

36 MS 2.40 MS 4.90 OR 2.33 SD 3.97 WA 1.97 

37 TX 2.46 VA 0.00 TX 3.42 KY 1.60 MS 2.96 

38 HI 4.89 NV 5.22 WY 4.85 DC 4.04 MI 3.42 

39 TN 1.77 OR 3.83 KS 4.06 TN 3.81 NV 3.98 

40 CO 2.10 MD 7.39 MS 3.56 MS 2.54 OR 2.30 

41 UT 1.54 DC 6.95 UT 3.09 TX 2.73 OH 2.13 

42 NV 2.52 OH 6.18 KY 4.24 OR 1.81 OK 3.36 

43 OH 1.74 ND 3.39 NV 0.00 UT 3.78 KS 2.67 

44 OR 1.58 KY 4.53 AR 2.44 IN 2.38 DE 3.49 

45 KS 3.98 MI 4.30 AZ 0.00 AR 2.29 IN 2.66 

46 AR 1.18 TN 4.85 TN 3.76 ND 1.66 WV 2.03 

47 AZ 2.17 IN 3.84 MI 4.17 WV 1.82 AR 2.13 

48 WY 3.83 WV 2.91 ND 1.57 DE 1.78 KY 3.80 

49 WV 1.31 UT 6.04 WV 1.97 PA 3.16 AL 4.22 

50 IN 1.98 AR 4.40 IN 2.94 NV 4.09 AK 3.78 

51 ND 1.78 OK 7.40 VA 3.79 AZ 2.60 ND 0.97 
 
Note:  The rates listed for each state are calculated manual rates and may include loss cost multipliers and assessments. Where states appear to have the same rate for a class, the ranking 
may be done based on the values prior to rounding to two decimal places, unlike Table 1 which show ties as equal rank. If the states have exactly the same calculated manual rate, they are 
ranked alphabetically. N/A = Not Applicable.

Source: Information Technology and Research Section, Central Services Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (October 2022)



20

Appendix 4. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking by class, cont.
Class 7600

Telecommunications
Class 7710 

Firefighters & Drivers 
Class 7720 

Police Officers
Class 8006 

Gasoline station 
Class 8017 

Store: Retail NOC

1 NJ 7.42 IA 3.40 DE 3.13 DE 2.59 DE 3.48 

2 NY 4.86 SD 2.70 CT 2.85 WI 1.90 CA 6.66 

3 IL 5.02 VT 5.03 OK 2.22 WY 2.98 NJ 5.91 

4 CT 4.60 NE 2.93 NJ 2.83 CT 2.28 OK 2.96 

5 CA 6.21 MI 2.14 VT 2.74 NJ 3.37 HI 7.11 

6 VT 11.61 MD 2.38 PA 2.16 CA 3.20 CT 4.19 

7 WI 3.72 NJ 5.05 AK 1.82 HI 2.70 RI 3.58 

8 RI 5.11 LA 4.20 HI 3.72 RI 2.37 PA 3.49 

9 LA 6.65 ME 3.34 LA 2.94 MT 1.40 LA 3.50 

10 SC 4.65 RI 3.34 MO 2.48 VT 1.93 MO 3.64 

11 HI 6.66 MO 4.05 RI 3.01 OK 2.91 NY 4.59 

12 ME 5.59 MT 2.87 NV 1.38 LA 2.11 AK 2.97 

13 MN 4.38 VA 1.98 AL 2.32 GA 1.80 VT 4.83 

14 AK 3.95 CA 3.37 FL 2.03 ID 1.42 IA 3.36 

15 NC 3.73 HI 4.87 WY 3.95 NH 1.54 MN 3.81 

16 NM 3.41 OH 2.96 NY 2.05 NY 1.79 NE 2.61 

17 DE 3.53 OK 4.71 ID 2.35 AK 1.40 WI 3.33 

18 AL 3.56 SC 2.82 CA 3.90 NC 1.43 SC 2.85 

19 MO 6.52 DE 3.53 CO 1.43 PA 1.94 WY 3.43 

20 FL 5.18 CT 3.98 MT 2.29 MO 1.86 ME 4.35 

21 KY 2.75 IL 2.05 OH 1.25 SC 1.69 NM 3.01 

22 NH 4.00 FL 3.36 SD 1.74 IL 1.44 AL 2.97 

23 GA 3.72 AK 3.36 IA 2.39 IA 1.83 GA 3.49 

24 NE 7.07 NY 4.69 MN 2.18 AL 1.84 IL 3.66 

25 OK 4.65 PA 3.46 ME 2.55 NE 1.68 ID 2.59 

26 TN 2.87 WA 2.15 GA 2.77 ME 1.75 MT 2.48 

27 DC 3.03 MN 2.81 WI 3.42 WA 1.03 FL 2.91 

28 IA 46.79 WI 2.89 OR 0.86 MN 1.81 NC 2.64 

29 MI 6.96 NH 2.42 SC 2.17 KS 1.21 CO 2.27 

30 ID 4.14 NC 2.78 MD 1.51 VA 1.15 NH 2.84 

31 MS 3.62 ID 3.52 NE 2.00 FL 1.41 SD 2.60 

32 SD 18.56 NV 3.25 NM 1.83 NM 1.42 MS 2.05 

33 OR 2.24 AZ 1.80 NC 2.30 CO 1.14 KS 3.11 

34 MT 0.00 GA 2.85 MS 1.61 OH 0.95 VA 2.16 

35 MD 5.70 CO 2.59 NH 2.63 NV 1.10 TX 2.35 

36 PA 3.46 KS 2.45 KS 2.01 SD 1.31 WA 2.66 

37 MA 2.88 MS 2.05 WA 1.91 KY 0.76 MD 3.01 

38 VA 5.43 NM 2.43 VA 1.66 TX 1.11 OH 2.12 

39 KS 3.48 TX 1.81 KY 1.39 MS 1.27 NV 2.28 

40 CO 2.85 WY 1.94 TN 1.63 TN 1.11 AZ 1.90 

41 OH 4.09 TN 2.28 AZ 1.22 DC 0.85 TN 1.78 

42 AZ 3.16 KY 1.99 IL 2.25 OR 0.53 UT 2.10 

43 WV 1.71 DC 1.86 UT 1.44 MD 1.04 KY 1.97 

44 TX 4.24 OR 1.58 MI 1.20 AZ 1.04 IN 2.16 

45 NV 2.94 AL 3.49 WV 0.84 MI 0.76 MA 3.44 

46 UT 2.53 MA 1.40 DC 1.58 IN 1.05 MI 1.68 

47 IN 2.77 ND 1.30 TX 1.49 UT 0.94 DC 3.77 

48 WA 4.36 IN 1.76 IN 1.29 MA 0.91 OR 1.52 

49 AR 2.17 AR 1.34 MA 1.75 AR 0.66 ND 1.94 

50 WY 1.94 UT 2.22 AR 1.00 WV 0.56 AR 1.24 

51 ND 1.92 WV 1.52 ND 0.51 ND 0.67 WV 1.33 
 
Note:  The rates listed for each state are calculated manual rates and may include loss cost multipliers and assessments. Where states appear to have the same rate for a class, the ranking 
may be done based on the values prior to rounding to two decimal places, unlike Table 1 which show ties as equal rank. If the states have exactly the same calculated manual rate, they are 
ranked alphabetically. N/A = Not Applicable.

Source: Information Technology and Research Section, Central Services Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (October 2022)
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Appendix 4. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking by class, cont.
Class 8018 

Store: Wholesale NOC
Class 8033 

Store: Meat/Groc Retail
Class 8232 

Lumberyard-New/Used
Class 8350 

Gasoline Dealer
Class 8380 

 Auto Service/Repair 

1 HI 5.37 CA 3.64 NJ 8.31 NY 3.87 NJ 0.44 

2 CA 6.14 NJ 4.86 HI 8.82 VT 3.79 NY 0.37 

3 NJ 5.93 HI 4.13 VT 6.75 NJ 5.78 LA 0.53 

4 VT 2.96 NY 3.68 CT 7.22 RI 0.00 VT 0.60 

5 DE 3.13 DE 3.07 MO 7.64 CT 3.29 CA 0.42 

6 CT 2.71 IL 2.94 NY 7.23 ME 4.29 ME 0.45 

7 NY 4.66 WY 2.43 DE 5.02 MO 0.00 AK 0.44 

8 DC 1.69 VT 3.27 CA 6.86 HI 0.00 WA 0.11 

9 ME 2.76 LA 3.30 RI 7.22 SC 3.14 CT 0.30 

10 AK 2.05 CT 3.77 LA 6.68 GA 2.75 MT 0.46 

11 PA 2.16 WI 3.16 OK 5.72 OK 0.00 MN 0.33 

12 MN 2.37 RI 3.99 AK 4.81 NC 2.09 WI 0.42 

13 LA 3.23 WA 1.64 GA 6.69 KY 1.75 AL 0.38 

14 RI 2.27 AK 2.31 SC 5.93 PA 1.80 MI 0.17 

15 GA 2.32 SC 3.15 MA 5.55 NH 2.96 SC 0.39 

16 IA 1.43 ME 2.94 IL 5.78 VA 2.18 IL 0.27 

17 IL 3.23 NM 2.12 MT 5.27 OH 1.80 VA 0.18 

18 MO 2.28 MN 2.04 NE 4.84 MT 3.30 HI 0.90 

19 WA 2.34 MT 2.40 NH 5.53 FL 2.35 WY 4.85 

20 MA 1.47 OK 2.44 SD 4.42 NE 2.37 NH 0.29 

21 OK 2.24 PA 3.06 IA 4.64 CO 1.73 GA 0.27 

22 SC 2.30 CO 1.69 MN 4.49 AK 3.04 IA 0.42 

23 WI 2.64 ID 2.98 CO 4.44 MN 3.41 ID 0.35 

24 FL 1.55 MD 1.91 MS 3.67 DE 1.82 DE 0.46 

25 MD 2.45 MO 3.30 NM 4.75 IL 3.16 FL 0.32 

26 VA 1.63 GA 3.10 VA 3.76 OR 1.20 NE 0.40 

27 NH 2.04 MS 1.83 FL 4.90 NM 2.07 SD 0.48 

28 SD 1.90 AL 2.64 NV 4.47 IA 2.80 MA 0.11 

29 KS 1.55 NH 2.86 PA 4.10 MA 2.54 NC 0.28 

30 NM 2.41 IN 1.65 OH 3.74 WI 3.56 KY 0.26 

31 OH 1.28 NV 1.63 ID 4.43 AL 3.20 MS 0.31 

32 ID 2.08 TX 1.37 KS 4.78 LA 0.00 MD 0.26 

33 NE 1.79 AZ 1.63 NC 4.32 MD 1.96 NM 0.43 

34 CO 1.94 VA 2.01 TX 4.41 CA 3.83 PA 0.28 

35 MT 2.09 DC 1.61 AL 4.55 ID 2.58 CO 0.18 

36 TX 1.72 SD 2.05 KY 3.09 SD 2.25 OH 0.14 

37 NC 1.66 OR 1.05 WI 4.59 DC 1.97 OR 0.12 

38 AL 2.01 NE 2.24 AZ 4.25 AZ 1.46 KS 0.23 

39 MS 1.94 FL 3.20 MI 3.29 KS 1.92 DC 0.13 

40 AZ 1.66 MI 1.09 DC 3.61 WV 1.17 TN 0.25 

41 KY 1.28 NC 2.13 ME 6.15 MS 1.98 ND 0.18 

42 NV 1.56 MA 1.95 OR 2.30 TX 1.37 AZ 0.21 

43 MI 1.48 KY 1.51 WA 3.11 TN 2.03 NV 0.43 

44 OR 1.16 OH 1.92 TN 3.51 WA 3.31 UT 0.23 

45 UT 1.32 KS 2.53 MD 3.40 MI 2.40 TX 0.19 

46 IN 2.00 IA 2.48 AR 3.06 NV 1.04 AR 0.16 

47 TN 1.27 UT 1.74 WY 3.18 UT 1.56 IN 0.17 

48 ND 0.61 TN 1.44 IN 2.81 AR 1.39 WV 0.20 

49 WV 0.85 AR 1.28 UT 3.30 IN 1.44 MO 0.39 

50 WY 2.75 WV 1.01 WV 2.04 ND 1.13 RI 0.38 

51 AR 1.08 ND 0.61 ND 1.34 WY 2.88 OK 0.39 
 
Note:  The rates listed for each state are calculated manual rates and may include loss cost multipliers and assessments. Where states appear to have the same rate for a class, the ranking 
may be done based on the values prior to rounding to two decimal places, unlike Table 1 which show ties as equal rank. If the states have exactly the same calculated manual rate, they are 
ranked alphabetically. N/A = Not Applicable.

Source: Information Technology and Research Section, Central Services Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (October 2022)
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Appendix 4. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking by class, cont.
Class 8742 

Salespersons-Outside
Class 8810 

Clerical Office Employ
Class 8824 

Retirement Living Cent
Class 8832 

Physician & Clerical
Class 8833 

Hospital: Professional

1 WY 0.38 HI 4.70 SC 2.44 CA 0.81 WA 4.15 

2 HI 0.41 AK 2.48 VT 3.54 DE 0.59 RI 1.53 

3 VT 0.21 WY 4.14 RI 3.47 HI 0.76 NY 1.56 

4 DE 0.14 MT 4.08 LA 2.89 AK 0.52 LA 1.61 

5 SD 0.17 ME 3.57 NJ 4.85 MT 0.50 CA 7.83 

6 MT 0.27 CA 3.97 CT 2.59 NY 0.51 VT 1.55 

7 AK 0.26 VT 4.70 GA 2.72 WA 0.46 MO 1.55 

8 LA 0.20 NM 2.70 MT 2.43 CT 0.48 AL 1.74 

9 NM 0.20 OK 2.73 CA 3.97 ME 0.54 AK 1.23 

10 NE 0.17 LA 3.33 ID 2.33 NJ 0.51 HI 1.79 

11 IA 0.20 ID 3.57 WI 3.06 VT 0.50 OK 1.15 

12 WI 0.19 MS 1.73 DE 2.81 PA 0.38 SC 1.31 

13 NJ 0.18 IA 2.08 HI 4.13 LA 0.37 MT 1.27 

14 OK 0.17 SC 2.65 MN 2.98 OK 0.36 WY 1.33 

15 SC 0.19 SD 2.35 ME 3.06 MN 0.39 CT 1.01 

16 RI 0.16 RI 4.39 WY 4.14 CO 0.28 NM 1.19 

17 ID 0.18 WI 3.31 FL 2.43 RI 0.38 NJ 1.25 

18 CA 0.27 NJ 4.85 NY 4.35 ID 0.39 ME 1.38 

19 ME 0.25 NE 2.46 AK 2.61 AL 0.38 NH 1.23 

20 NY 0.16 DE 2.81 MS 1.77 NM 0.38 DC 0.95 

21 CT 0.12 NY 4.35 OK 2.33 IA 0.31 MN 1.24 

22 NV 0.11 MO 2.70 AL 3.00 WI 0.31 MA 1.10 

23 MO 0.18 FL 3.10 NE 2.29 MO 0.32 NC 0.97 

24 MS 0.18 AL 2.48 NH 2.18 NC 0.29 ID 1.13 

25 MN 0.14 CT 3.75 NM 2.07 WY 0.61 PA 1.02 

26 AL 0.17 NV 1.67 CO 1.88 GA 0.32 GA 0.96 

27 PA 0.13 KY 1.42 OH 1.42 SC 0.34 FL 1.00 

28 FL 0.16 PA 1.97 WA 2.18 FL 0.32 DE 0.67 

29 NC 0.12 NH 3.10 MO 2.85 NH 0.34 VA 0.83 

30 GA 0.13 ND 0.56 NC 1.90 IL 0.29 CO 0.74 

31 KY 0.13 GA 2.47 SD 2.02 NE 0.27 OH 0.82 

32 NH 0.14 NC 2.16 NV 2.13 SD 0.28 MS 0.78 

33 IL 0.11 TN 1.57 MI 4.17 VA 0.21 NE 0.84 

34 MD 0.09 MN 3.55 TN 1.57 OH 0.22 WI 0.86 

35 TN 0.12 WV 1.38 VA 1.52 MA 0.27 IA 0.74 

36 KS 0.11 IN 1.41 IL 2.39 MS 0.25 MI 0.74 

37 CO 0.09 AZ 1.42 PA 1.97 NV 0.28 SD 0.73 

38 VA 0.09 OH 2.14 IA 2.25 OR 0.16 KY 0.65 

39 AZ 0.10 MI 2.61 OR 0.79 AZ 0.25 TN 0.79 

40 WV 0.11 CO 2.06 TX 1.49 DC 0.22 IL 0.73 

41 MI 0.10 IL 2.21 DC 1.66 MD 0.24 OR 0.41 

42 UT 0.09 VA 1.78 KS 1.81 ND 0.22 AZ 0.61 

43 TX 0.08 KS 1.78 AZ 1.37 KS 0.21 KS 0.57 

44 OR 0.06 TX 2.04 KY 1.28 MI 0.20 MD 0.60 

45 IN 0.13 OR 1.28 WV 1.02 KY 0.18 UT 0.61 

46 OH 0.08 UT 1.61 MD 1.51 TX 0.19 AR 0.52 

47 AR 0.09 AR 1.02 AR 1.18 TN 0.20 NV 0.50 

48 ND 0.10 MD 1.63 UT 1.44 IN 0.20 IN 0.54 

49 DC 0.09 DC 1.66 MA 1.40 UT 0.19 ND 0.42 

50 WA 0.05 MA 1.77 IN 1.47 WV 0.13 TX 0.50 

51 MA 0.07 WA 2.30 ND 0.84 AR 0.15 WV 0.39 
 
Note:  The rates listed for each state are calculated manual rates and may include loss cost multipliers and assessments. Where states appear to have the same rate for a class, the ranking 
may be done based on the values prior to rounding to two decimal places, unlike Table 1 which show ties as equal rank. If the states have exactly the same calculated manual rate, they are 
ranked alphabetically. N/A = Not Applicable.

Source: Information Technology and Research Section, Central Services Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (October 2022)
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Appendix 4. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking by class, cont.
Class 8835 

Home Healthcard
Class 8864 

Social Serv Org
Class 8868 

College: Professional
Class 9014 

Chimney Cleaning
Class 9015 

Buildings-Operation

1 NJ 4.62 NY 4.22 WY 1.96 CA 10.08 NJ 6.44 

2 NY 5.38 WI 3.52 NJ 1.43 DE 5.74 AK 3.62 

3 CA 3.86 WA 3.50 AK 0.68 NY 6.16 VT 4.20 

4 DE 3.20 HI 3.94 CA 0.85 PA 5.37 HI 5.20 

5 VT 3.74 OK 2.71 HI 0.84 WA 5.13 RI 4.41 

6 RI 3.42 CT 2.68 MA 0.70 NJ 5.66 DE 3.58 

7 HI 4.44 MA 3.39 PA 0.63 VT 4.49 CA 5.82 

8 PA 2.53 CO 2.13 VT 0.64 HI 5.29 SD 3.77 

9 MT 2.89 AK 2.14 MT 0.57 GA 4.73 WI 4.50 

10 ID 2.92 MI 2.28 ID 0.64 RI 4.04 NY 4.14 

11 CT 2.34 MN 2.20 DE 0.40 MT 3.53 PA 3.57 

12 ME 3.34 LA 2.14 OK 0.66 ID 3.64 CT 3.92 

13 AK 2.21 RI 2.05 NY 0.56 WI 4.12 LA 3.99 

14 SC 2.59 NH 2.26 MO 0.58 AK 3.23 SC 3.82 

15 GA 2.72 MT 2.02 WA 0.48 CT 3.39 MO 4.24 

16 OK 2.54 ID 1.99 NM 0.55 MN 3.61 OK 3.50 

17 NH 2.99 GA 1.91 CT 0.45 LA 3.88 ID 4.21 

18 AL 2.75 SC 1.86 LA 0.61 OK 3.25 MN 3.61 

19 WY 3.10 AL 1.94 MN 0.57 SC 3.55 ME 4.23 

20 NC 2.19 VT 2.05 WI 0.50 CO 2.73 NE 3.33 

21 MO 2.70 ME 2.31 CO 0.42 MO 3.42 FL 3.64 

22 MI 2.28 OH 1.54 NC 0.45 ME 3.99 AL 3.59 

23 OH 1.80 NJ 1.43 IA 0.53 FL 3.34 MT 3.12 

24 WA 1.93 IA 1.64 ME 0.46 IA 3.15 GA 3.71 

25 IA 2.16 NM 1.55 KS 0.43 IL 3.22 IA 3.03 

26 VA 1.67 NE 1.80 TX 0.42 SD 2.98 NM 3.59 

27 LA 2.18 MD 1.62 SD 0.46 MI 3.12 MS 2.44 

28 SD 2.00 SD 1.47 FL 0.40 NC 2.82 OH 2.79 

29 TX 0.50 IL 1.49 GA 0.40 NH 3.17 NH 3.38 

30 NE 2.09 OR 1.05 NH 0.42 NM 2.88 CO 2.51 

31 WI 1.62 FL 1.50 MS 0.38 OR 1.75 WA 2.76 

32 CO 1.55 KS 1.61 AL 0.51 AL 2.85 MI 2.76 

33 MA 1.77 MS 1.84 NE 0.40 OH 2.07 NV 2.67 

34 FL 1.88 AZ 1.05 RI 0.39 NE 2.58 MA 2.94 

35 MN 1.61 TN 1.30 SC 0.40 VA 1.91 AZ 2.29 

36 OR 1.09 NC 1.14 OH 0.30 KS 2.41 KS 2.87 

37 IL 1.75 KY 0.86 MI 0.32 NV 2.27 NC 2.51 

38 NM 1.81 WV 0.81 NV 0.36 MA 2.19 IL 2.89 

39 TN 1.86 DC 0.90 AZ 0.31 AZ 2.00 OR 1.69 

40 MS 1.65 ND 0.96 VA 0.27 DC 1.94 MD 2.02 

41 MD 1.43 WY 2.79 KY 0.26 MD 1.97 KY 1.85 

42 KY 1.21 IN 1.05 OR 0.20 MS 2.05 UT 2.10 

43 IN 1.57 UT 0.97 IL 0.30 TX 1.85 WV 1.76 

44 KS 1.33 AR 0.81 IN 0.31 KY 1.70 VA 1.78 

45 UT 1.37 CA 0.00 AR 0.28 WY 4.85 IN 1.84 

46 AZ 1.16 MO 0.00 MD 0.26 ND 2.09 ND 2.09 

47 AR 1.14 DE 0.00 ND 0.27 UT 1.75 DC 1.84 

48 DC 1.13 PA 0.00 TN 0.26 TN 1.81 TX 1.91 

49 WV 1.01 VA 0.00 DC 0.25 IN 1.67 TN 1.93 

50 NV 0.80 NV 0.00 WV 0.20 WV 1.20 AR 1.39 

51 ND 0.42 TX 0.00 UT 0.21 AR 1.34 WY 2.92 
 
Note:  The rates listed for each state are calculated manual rates and may include loss cost multipliers and assessments. Where states appear to have the same rate for a class, the ranking 
may be done based on the values prior to rounding to two decimal places, unlike Table 1 which show ties as equal rank. If the states have exactly the same calculated manual rate, they are 
ranked alphabetically. N/A = Not Applicable.

Source: Information Technology and Research Section, Central Services Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (October 2022)
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Appendix 4. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking by class, cont.
Class 9052 

Hotel:Other Employees
Class 9058 

Hotel:Restaurant
Class 9082 

Restaurant NOC
Class 9083 

Restaurant:Fast Food
Class 9084 

Bar,Lounge,Tavern

1 CA 7.79 NY 6.61 CA 3.29 CA 3.29 CA 3.29 

2 NJ 4.78 DE 2.74 NJ 3.05 NJ 3.05 NJ 3.05 

3 NY 4.29 WY 1.80 HI 2.93 NY 2.43 VT 1.92 

4 DE 2.74 CA 7.79 NY 2.25 DE 1.57 HI 2.62 

5 WA 3.17 NJ 3.05 AK 1.61 VT 2.08 AK 1.49 

6 WY 3.77 PA 2.29 DE 1.50 HI 2.39 CT 1.88 

7 RI 2.81 HI 3.10 RI 1.74 WY 1.80 RI 1.84 

8 HI 4.03 MN 2.26 VT 1.68 OK 1.54 OK 1.80 

9 PA 2.57 VT 2.51 WY 1.80 LA 1.75 WI 1.91 

10 VT 3.16 RI 2.12 WI 1.83 RI 1.76 DE 1.24 

11 CT 2.94 CT 1.99 GA 1.73 PA 1.43 ID 2.05 

12 AK 2.09 SC 2.14 FL 1.56 CT 1.34 WY 1.80 

13 LA 2.58 LA 1.99 ME 1.86 GA 1.68 MN 1.75 

14 GA 2.60 AK 1.70 MO 1.67 FL 1.53 FL 1.53 

15 OK 2.43 NH 2.18 ID 1.62 MN 1.31 CO 1.27 

16 ID 2.64 OK 1.84 LA 1.77 SC 1.44 LA 1.73 

17 FL 2.49 WI 2.03 OK 1.43 AK 1.10 SC 1.66 

18 CO 1.99 MT 1.87 SC 1.58 AL 1.71 MO 1.75 

19 MT 2.43 ME 2.31 PA 1.40 NH 1.51 VA 1.30 

20 MN 2.26 MO 2.14 MN 1.51 ME 1.65 SD 1.52 

21 MO 2.44 ID 1.97 AL 1.65 CO 1.11 GA 1.61 

22 WI 2.27 GA 2.05 CT 1.30 WA 1.24 ME 1.81 

23 IL 2.52 FL 1.72 NH 1.55 WI 1.58 NM 1.49 

24 SD 2.23 IL 1.72 SD 1.31 ID 1.25 NY 1.39 

25 NH 2.56 VA 1.49 CO 1.06 MO 1.49 AL 1.75 

26 ME 2.58 CO 1.35 IL 1.39 MT 1.19 IL 1.36 

27 SC 2.05 NE 1.51 NM 1.28 NE 1.33 NH 1.54 

28 OR 1.29 SD 1.56 WA 1.22 IA 1.32 MT 1.32 

29 NE 2.01 MS 1.50 MS 1.09 VA 1.02 WA 1.26 

30 NM 2.19 AL 1.77 MT 1.16 IL 1.20 PA 1.07 

31 AL 2.25 IA 1.81 NE 1.30 NM 1.04 NC 1.21 

32 IA 1.99 WA 1.36 VA 1.20 MS 1.02 NE 1.28 

33 OH 1.39 DC 1.51 KS 1.20 NC 1.11 AZ 1.09 

34 NC 1.59 NM 1.51 NC 1.09 SD 1.09 MS 1.12 

35 MS 1.69 NC 1.45 IA 1.23 MA 1.00 MI 0.96 

36 NV 1.88 MA 1.37 AZ 0.99 KS 1.00 IA 1.28 

37 VA 1.57 TX 1.70 MA 1.00 TX 0.88 KS 1.16 

38 TX 1.45 KS 1.29 TX 0.88 DC 0.97 NV 1.16 

39 AZ 1.57 KY 1.07 MD 0.90 OR 0.65 UT 1.09 

40 KS 1.61 OH 1.09 OR 0.65 AZ 0.81 MD 0.99 

41 DC 1.55 AZ 1.15 DC 0.87 OH 0.82 KY 0.84 

42 MA 1.45 MD 1.23 UT 1.02 MI 0.98 MA 1.00 

43 MD 1.38 IN 1.18 MI 1.05 MD 0.85 TX 0.88 

44 MI 1.28 UT 1.15 KY 0.71 KY 0.74 TN 0.99 

45 KY 1.18 NV 1.00 IN 0.93 NV 1.05 OR 0.65 

46 TN 1.27 TN 1.17 TN 0.84 UT 0.87 DC 0.97 

47 UT 1.25 OR 0.65 NV 0.76 TN 0.91 AR 0.84 

48 IN 1.20 WV 0.80 ND 0.76 IN 0.88 IN 0.93 

49 WV 0.89 MI 0.85 OH 0.64 ND 0.76 OH 0.63 

50 AR 0.96 AR 0.78 AR 0.61 WV 0.52 ND 0.76 

51 ND 0.84 ND 0.76 WV 0.57 AR 0.56 WV 0.63 
 
Note:  The rates listed for each state are calculated manual rates and may include loss cost multipliers and assessments. Where states appear to have the same rate for a class, the ranking 
may be done based on the values prior to rounding to two decimal places, unlike Table 1 which show ties as equal rank. If the states have exactly the same calculated manual rate, they are 
ranked alphabetically. N/A = Not Applicable.

Source: Information Technology and Research Section, Central Services Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (October 2022)
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Appendix 4. Workers’ compensation premium rate ranking by class, cont.
Class 9101 

College: Other
Class 9102 
Park NOC

Class 9403 
Garbage, Refuse Collect

1 NJ 13.10 NJ 5.55 NJ 18.54 

2 HI 6.84 DE 3.53 HI 18.27 

3 ID 5.80 HI 5.13 NY 14.21 

4 CA 5.17 RI 4.06 VT 15.22 

5 VT 5.51 NY 3.99 CT 10.46 

6 RI 5.01 AK 3.69 RI 9.45 

7 CT 4.24 VT 4.20 LA 11.91 

8 IA 4.73 MT 4.02 MO 9.92 

9 MO 4.74 FL 3.62 DE 6.63 

10 MN 5.38 GA 3.86 IL 8.75 

11 SD 3.77 MN 3.71 GA 9.11 

12 WI 4.56 CT 3.29 SC 8.56 

13 OK 4.40 ID 3.91 MA 9.55 

14 GA 4.09 MO 3.66 WI 9.62 

15 AK 3.30 LA 4.08 NE 7.98 

16 LA 4.49 ME 4.29 SD 7.21 

17 NE 3.88 NE 3.33 ME 9.29 

18 NY 3.80 NH 3.60 IA 9.75 

19 MT 3.88 IA 3.56 MD 7.73 

20 FL 3.67 IL 3.34 OH 6.21 

21 ME 4.53 OK 2.77 NC 7.38 

22 CO 2.81 NC 3.20 CA 7.83 

23 SC 3.66 SC 3.12 OK 6.62 

24 NH 3.60 NM 2.85 MN 7.42 

25 KS 3.13 MI 2.48 DC 7.28 

26 NM 3.33 WI 2.70 VA 6.14 

27 MS 3.09 VA 2.31 WA 5.90 

28 IL 3.23 SD 2.80 AL 7.26 

29 VA 2.56 OR 1.69 ID 7.79 

30 DC 2.92 AL 2.84 MS 2.38 

31 MA 3.39 MA 2.20 MT 7.35 

32 NC 2.92 NV 3.08 NV 9.55 

33 AZ 2.46 CO 2.03 AK 5.18 

34 WV 2.46 PA 2.02 CO 5.35 

35 AL 3.10 WA 2.33 FL 5.78 

36 TX 2.33 DC 2.27 PA 5.09 

37 KY 1.99 MS 1.87 KY 4.56 

38 OR 1.52 KY 1.91 NM 5.78 

39 MI 2.36 KS 2.45 NH 6.10 

40 IN 2.55 MD 2.26 KS 6.34 

41 TN 2.51 OH 2.54 TN 5.30 

42 MD 2.04 AZ 1.90 TX 4.75 

43 OH 1.63 WY 3.04 ND 5.09 

44 UT 2.00 UT 2.12 WV 4.96 

45 WY 1.96 TN 2.24 UT 4.96 

46 NV 2.75 TX 1.95 AZ 4.62 

47 AR 1.65 IN 2.38 MI 4.05 

48 WA 0.89 WV 1.45 AR 5.09 

49 PA 0.63 ND 1.45 OR 2.76 

50 DE 0.40 AR 1.52 IN 4.38 

51 ND 0.27 CA 0.00 WY 2.94 
 
Note:  The rates listed for each state are calculated manual rates and may include loss cost multipliers and assessments. Where states appear to have the same rate for a class, the ranking 
may be done based on the values prior to rounding to two decimal places, unlike Table 1 which show ties as equal rank. If the states have exactly the same calculated manual rate, they are 
ranked alphabetically. N/A = Not Applicable.

Source: Information Technology and Research Section, Central Services Division, Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (October 2022)
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Information Technology and Research Section
Central Services Division
350 Winter St. NE, Room 300
P.O. Box 14480
Salem, OR 97309-0405
503-378-8254

Visit the DCBS website oregon.gov/dcbs and select the “Statistical 
Reports” link at the bottom of the page for additional claims data and 
statistical reports, or call 503-378-8254.

In compliance with 
the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA), 
this publication is 
available in alternative 
formats. 

http://oregon.gov/dcbs

